Meet Katherine Howell

Things to do
0 Love It
Save it
Meet Katherine Howell
More Less
Moreton Bay Region Libraries says
Friends of Arana Hills Library present an Arana Hills Library 40th birthday celebration event - an evening with Katherine Howell (Author).

Discover how Katherine Howell’s background as a paramedic inspired her to write her popular Ella Marconi crime series.

Fans of Karin Slaughter and Patricia Cornwell won’t want to miss this celebratory wine and cheese evening.

About Katherine Howell
Katherine Howell was born and raised in Sydney and after various jobs, including as an animal handler and bookshop sales assistant, she joined the ambulance service and worked as a paramedic for fifteen years while completing her Bachelor and Masters degrees in creative writing.

Her first novel, Frantic, was published in 2007 and featured a paramedic alongside Sydney police detective Ella Marconi in 'an adrenaline rush of a thriller' (Sydney Morning Herald). It won the 2008 Davitt award for best crime fiction.

Her second book, The Darkest Hour, continued the pattern with Ella and another paramedic in 'a finely paced and engrossing novel' (Guardian UK).

The third in the series, Cold Justice, made the Australian bestseller list and was described by the New York Times bestselling author Tess Gerritsen as 'one of my favourite books of the year'. It also won the 2011 Davitt award for best crime fiction, making Katherine the only author to have won twice.

Her fourth book, Violent Exposure, was described by Bookseller & Publisher as 'arguably her best yet - four stars', while the fifth, Silent Fear, was chosen as a 'Guaranteed Book You Can't Put Down' by the national Get Reading! programme.

Katherine went on to write three more Ella Marconi novels, Web of Deceit, Deserving Death and Tell the Truth. Katherine's books are published in multiple countries and languages and have been likened to the work of Karin Slaughter and Patricia Cornwell.
More Less

By: Moreton Bay Region Libraries