O2 Academy Bristol

Music, Music venues Central Bristol
0 Love It
Save it
O2 Academy Bristol

Slap bang in the city centre, this is the place for the biggest live gigs – from international superstars and homegrown UK talent alike

Bristol’s go-to space for large-scale live gigs and the occasional club night isn’t the city’s most charming or credible venue, but it is one of the biggest – both in terms of size and the acts it attracts. And when the Academy is full to the rafters with dedicated followers of whatever band or artist is performing that night, thanks to its massive stage and huge balcony, this stonking great shed of sound takes some beating in a city seriously lacking in big venues. 

The days when the Academy was the spot of choice for massive house and D&B raves on a weekly basis are long gone, and it now focuses firmly on live gigs, with the ever-popular weekly Ramshackle indie night the closest it usually gets to the raves that were once its staple diet.

From rock royalty and of-the-moment pop to reggae superstars, hip hop heroes and dance acts preparing for the festival season, if there’s a Bristol gig on their tour list, the Academy is where you’d usually expect to find them.

By: Jonathan Cook

Posted:

Venue name: O2 Academy Bristol
Contact:
Address: Frogmore Street
Bristol
BS1 5NA
Do you own this business?

Pick a date

to
  • Dance and electronic Wednesday May 3 2017
  • Dance and electronic Friday May 5 2017
  • House, disco and techno Friday May 5 2017 - Saturday July 29 2017
  • Reggae and dancehall Wednesday May 10 2017
  • Rock and indie Thursday May 11 2017
  • Pop Friday May 12 2017
  • House, disco and techno Saturday May 13 2017 - Sunday May 14 2017
  • Funk, soul and disco Monday May 15 2017
  • Rock and indie Tuesday May 16 2017
  • Reggae and dancehall Saturday May 20 2017
  • Show more
LiveReviews|0
NaN people listening