O2 Academy Leeds

Music, Music venues Central Leeds
0 Love It
Save it
O2 Academy Leeds

Large venue that features a diverse range of bands, spanning from older acts to more current chart-toppers. It also hosts a student night with prices to match.

Having spent the 90s as the Town & Country Club, this gothic venue was refurbished and opened as the O2 Academy in 2008, and has been a perennial favourite with both students and locals since.

Expensive, generic lager comes with the territory when you take the corporate dollar, and there’s no food to be had anywhere, but you don’t visit the Academy to eat. Old bands reuniting to pay their mortgages seems to account for half of its schedule, and tickets are normally quite pricey – nearly £30 to see the The Boomtown Rats, for example – but it also attracts more  current names. In the past 12 months, it’s hosted chart stars such as Clean Bandit, Sam Smith, The Courteeners and a two-night Christmas extravaganza by local indie icons The Cribs. Propaganda, a popular student night that offers cheap Jägerbombs and beer, offsets the big-ticket events.

As a gig venue, however, it’s functional but little more. The interior is basic: a two-tiered, 4,000-capacity space means it’s large but not cavernous, with seating on the upper tier, and there’s also a smaller basement area for club nights. The sound quality is very good until you get further back than the sound desk and into the bar areas.

The Academy may no longer be the biggest venue in Leeds, since the opening of the First Direct Arena in 2013, but it nevertheless manages to pull in the most satisfyingly diverse range of names.

By: Edmund Biggs

Posted:

Venue name: O2 Academy Leeds
Contact:
Address: 55 Cookridge Street
Leeds
LS2 3AW
Do you own this business?

Pick a date

to
  • Bass, garage and D&B Until Sunday December 17 2017
  • Rock and indie Thursday May 4 2017 - Friday May 5 2017
  • Funk, soul and disco Thursday May 11 2017
  • Reggae and dancehall Friday May 12 2017
  • Covers bands Saturday May 13 2017
  • Reggae and dancehall Friday May 19 2017
  • Rock and indie Sunday May 28 2017
  • House, disco and techno Friday June 2 2017
  • Punk and metal Saturday June 3 2017
  • Funk and soul Friday June 30 2017 - Saturday July 1 2017
  • Show more
LiveReviews|0
1 person listening