Get us in your inbox

Netflix
©Freestocks

Netflix is helping exes consciously uncouple their accounts

Losing the love of your life doesn’t have to mean losing your watchlist

Written by
Jon Hornbuckle
Advertising

Netflix has come to the rescue of heartbroken telly lovers with a new membership option.

After months of testing, the streaming service has launched a new feature called ‘Profile Transfer’.

It allows people to keep their personalised recommendations, viewing history, watchlist and other settings when fate forces them to start their own membership, perhaps after a break-up, leaving home for university, or just deciding to stop being the cheap friend and scrounging off your mate’s log-in details.

‘People move. Families grow. Relationships end,’ runs Netflix’s rather profound statement,’but throughout these life changes, your Netflix experience should stay the same.’ Totes emosh.

Netflix subscribers will receive an email this week with instructions on how to use the new profile transfer feature.

Cynical types might see this as a gambit to stop people from different households sharing accounts.

Last week, Netflix confirmed that accounts with multiple user profiles who are watching content from different locations will face a monthly fee added to their subscription costs from early 2023.

So if you’ve been sneakily streaming on your exes’ Netflix account, make sure you switch before they get landed with the fee.

Netflix is making your nights in a bit cheaper – but there’s a catch.

Netflix reveals when it will start charging a fee for extra users.

Latest news

    Advertising

    The best things in life are free.

    Get our free newsletter – it’s great.

    Loading animation
    Déjà vu! We already have this email. Try another?

    🙌 Awesome, you're subscribed!

    Thanks for subscribing! Look out for your first newsletter in your inbox soon!