Get us in your inbox

Netflix
Netflix

Netflix reveals when it will start charging fee for extra users

The streaming platform is getting strict on sharing accounts

Written by
Jon Hornbuckle
Advertising

Netflix has announced when it will begin charging an extra fee for accounts with additional users.

The change will come into effect in early 2023 and signals the end of days for those still sneakily using their ex’s login details.

While they’ve not confirmed the price, expect it to be around £1.75 in the UK or $3 in the US, based on the countries where Netflix has already implemented the change. 

This is based on the amount being one quarter of the basic tier membership, although Netflix believes that the new rule will be most popular for accounts on their upcoming membership that includes adverts.

‘We’ve landed on a thoughtful approach to monetise account sharing and we’ll begin rolling this out more broadly starting in early 2023,’ said Netflix in a statement.

‘After listening to consumer feedback, we are going to offer the ability for borrowers to transfer their Netflix profile into their own account, and for sharers to manage their devices more easily and to create sub-accounts, if they want to pay for family or friends.’

This move won’t impact people who share your account in the same household. So in short, anyone on the ‘Who's’ Watching?’ Netflix log-in screen that doesn’t live in your house will need to cough up the pennies in the new year.

A new kind of Netflix subscription will make streaming cheaper.

Netflix doesn’t want you to binge watch its shows anymore.

Latest news

    Advertising

    The best things in life are free.

    Get our free newsletter – it’s great.

    Loading animation
    Déjà vu! We already have this email. Try another?

    🙌 Awesome, you're subscribed!

    Thanks for subscribing! Look out for your first newsletter in your inbox soon!