Get us in your inbox

Face masks, airport, travel
Photograph: Shutterstock

These U.S. states require you to quarantine or present a negative test when visiting

Planning to travel for the holidays? Be prepared to quarantine if you travel to one of these states.

Sarah Medina

Traveling right now is a bit of a mess, and the holidays will likely only make it worse. And while most states are encouraging residents to stay home this Thanksgiving, the airports are likely to be as packed as ever. So if you're planning to head out of state for Thanksgiving (and want to stay as safe as possible), you might want to reference this list of states that are requiring travelers to self quarantine for 14 days or present a negative COVID-19 test when visiting.

RECOMMENDED: Can I travel in the USA? Holiday travel rules and restrictions explained. 

Here are the rules broken down by state (listed in alphabetical order). If states are not listed, there are no travel restrictions currently in place. 

Alaska: Visitors must submit a travel declaration and a self-isolation plan online before traveling then also present a negative COVID-19 test taken within 72 hours of departure, or you can be tested upon arrival for $250 and self-quarantine until the results are available. Travelers must also follow “strict social distancing” for five days after arrival. 

California: California recommends anyone coming to the state (including returning residents) self-quarantine for at least two weeks. 

Connecticut: Visitors to Connecticut must either quarantine for 14 days upon arrival or arrive with a negative COVID-19 test taken within 72 hours of departure if they are coming from a state with a test positivity rate of 10 percent over a 7-day average. Travelers from New York, New Jersey, and Rhode Island are exempt from the order. Connecticut residents who travel to a neighboring state for less than 24 hours are also exempt.

D.C.: Anyone coming from a high-risk state (which includes most of the country) must get tested within 72 hours of traveling. Visitors who stay in D.C. for more than three days will have to get re-tested within three to five days of arrival. Travel to and from Maryland, Virginia, Hawaii, and Vermont is exempt from the order.

Hawaii: Visitors may skip an otherwise mandatory quarantine period if they show proof of a negative test taken within 72 hours. Quarantine is still required for inter-island travel between Kaua‘i, Maui, and Hawai‘i (the Big Island). 

Illinois: Illinois has no state-wide restrictions, but Chicago requires travelers from several high-risk states to self-quarantine for 14 days upon arrival or arrive with a negative test. 

Kansas: Travelers from North or South Dakota must quarantine for 14 days along with people who go on a cruise ship or attend an out-of-state mass gathering. 

Kentucky: Kentucky recommends a 14-day self-quarantine for those coming from a state with a positive test rate of 15 percent or higher or those coming from an international destination.

Maine: Requires travelers from everywhere except Massachusetts, New Hampshire and Vermont to either undergo a 14-day self-quarantine or present a negative COVID-19 test taken within 72 hours. 

Massachusetts: All travelers—except those from Washington DC, Hawaii, Maine, New Hampshire, New York, Vermont or Washington—must complete a travel form and either show proof of a negative test taken within 72 hours or quarantine for 14 days. 

New Hampshire: Travelers from outside of New England should self-quarantine for two weeks. Those coming from Maine, Vermont, Massachusetts, Connecticut, and Rhode Island are exempt. 

New Jersey: Travelers from high-risk states (the state currently has 40 states on their travel advisory) to self-quarantine for 14 days. 

New Mexico: Travelers who come to New Mexico from high-risk states must “physically separate from others” for at least 14 days. Those coming from low-risk states such as Hawaii, Maine, and Vermont are exempt.

New York: New York requires travelers to take a COVID-19 test within three days of their departure and then quarantine upon arrival for three days. On the fourth day, travelers can get tested again and if both tests are negative, they are allowed to leave quarantine. New Yorkers who leave the state for less than 24 hours will be required to fill out a traveler information form when they return and get tested four days after coming back, but will not be subject to quarantine.

Ohio: Travelers coming from states with a positive test rate of 15 percent or higher are asked to voluntarily self-quarantine for 14 days.

OklahomaOklahoma requires travelers “from an area with substantial community spread” to wear a face mask in public and limit participating in indoor gatherings for 10 to 14 days. 

Pennsylvania: Pennsylvania recommends people who travel to a high-risk area (which is currently deemed a majority of the country( quarantine upon arrival. 

Rhode Island: Rhode Island requires travelers to complete a certificate of compliance and out-of-state travel screening form upon arrival, which they have to give to their hotel when they check in. Travelers coming from a state with a positive rate of higher than 5 percent can either arrive with a negative COVID-19 test from within 72 hours or quarantine for 14 days.

VermontVermont requires most visitors to the state to quarantine upon arrival, allowing them to test out of that quarantine with a test on or after day seven.

Most popular on Time Out

This map highlights the most popular Thanksgiving sides in each state
Arkansas is paying people $10,000 to move there
This map highlights the risk of catching COVID-19 in every single county in the United States
Here's how to get your hands on a giant Christmas tree made up of 130 bottles of Jameson whiskey
The 14 best ski resorts and ski towns in the USA

Latest news