Emmanuel Arakélian | The Cleveland Museum Of Art

Things to do
0 Love It
Save it
Emmanuel Arakélian | The Cleveland Museum Of Art
More Less
Emmanuel Arakélian | The Cleveland Museum Of Art says
FREE Performance
CMA's Gartner Auditorium

Born in 1991 in Avignon, Emmanuel Arakélian began his musical studies at the age of 12 with organists Jean-Pierre Lecauday and Henri Pourtau. He would later continue his musical studies at the Conservatoire national de région de Toulon, studying the organ with Pascal Marsault and the harpsichord and basso continuo with Claire Bodin.

His love for early music, and his interest in instrument building has led him to work extensively with historic organs and harpsichords, and to undergo research on baroque ornamentation and musical rhetoric. He also frequently performs the contemporary music of Vincent Paulet, Bernard Foccroulle, Thierry Escaich and Grégoire Rolland and recently worked intensely on the works of Jehan Alain (1911–1940).

A student at the Conservatoire national supérieur de Paris since 2012, he is simultaneously pursuing studies in organ, harpsichord and basso continuo. He has been honored with scholarships by the Fondation de France, the Fonds Tarazzi and the Fondation Meyer. Parallel to his studies, he is also organist of the Pascal Quoirin / Jean-Louis Loriaut organ of Saint Léonce Cathedral of Fréjus.

J. S. Bach, Toccata, adagio and fugue in C major, BWV 564
J. S. Bach, “Vergnügte Ruh, beliebte Seelenlust," BWV 170 (Transcription by Emmanuel Arakélian)
Felix Mendelssohn, Variations sérieuses (Transcription by Reitz Smits)
Grégoire Rolland, Omoï
Jean Alain (1911–1940), Fantaisie no. 2
Maurice Duruflé, Prelude and Fugue sur le nom de A.L.A.I.N.

More info: http://bit.ly/2kjeJFh
More Less

By: The Cleveland Museum of Art

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/1777822462538832
To improve this listing email: feedback@timeout.com