Inprint Tony Hoagland & Sharon Olds Reading

Things to do
0 Love It
Save it
Inprint Tony Hoagland & Sharon Olds Reading
More Less
Inprint says
The 2015/2016 Inprint Margarett Root Brown Reading Series closes by celebrating National Poetry Month and featuring award-winning poets Tony Hoagland and Sharon Olds. Hoagland and Olds will read from their work, followed by an on-stage interview with Martha Serpas, poet and faculty member at the University of Houston Creative Writing Program, an audience Q&A, and a book sale and signing. Tickets for this reading are $5 general admission available through Inprint’s website. Free rush tickets for students and senior citizens 65+ will be available at the door starting at 6:45 pm.

Tony Hoagland’s “imagination ranges thrillingly across manners, morals, sexual doings, kinds of speech both lyrical and candid, intimate as well as wild,” describes the American Academy of Arts and Letters, and the Jackson Prize judges say, “It’s hard to imagine any aspect of contemporary American life that couldn’t make its way into the writing of Tony Hoagland.” Recipient of the Jackson Poetry Prize, Mark Twain Award, and Hardison Prize, Hoagland is also the author of five poetry collections including the James Laughlin Award-winning Donkey Gospel, What Narcissism Means to Me, Unincorporated Persons in the Late Honda Dynasty, and his latest book Application for Release from the Dream. He is also author of two essay collections, Real Sofistikashun (a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award) and Twenty Poems that Could Save America. Dwight Garner in The New York Times writes, “Few [poets] deliver more pure pleasure. His erudite comic poems are backloaded with heartache and longing, and they function, emotionally, like improvised explosive devices.” Hoagland teaches at the UH Creative Writing Program.

Sharon Olds, who was told in an early rejection to submit her poems to Ladies Home Journal, is now one of contemporary poetry’s leading voices. The author of a dozen collections, including The Unswept Room and One Secret Thing, she won the Pulitzer Prize and T.S. Eliot Prize (the first American female poet to win it) for her most recent book Stag’s Leap, which deals with the breakup of her 32-year marriage. She also won the National Book Critics Circle Awards for Strike Sparks: Selected Poems 1980-2002 and The Dead and the Living. Michael Ondaatje calls her poetry “pure fire in the hands,” praising the “roughness and humor and brag and tenderness and completion in her work as she carries the reader through rooms of passion and loss.” Olds teaches at New York University and is a founder of the NYU writing workshops at Goldwater Hospital and for veterans who served in Iraq and Afghanistan.
More Less

By: Inprint

To improve this listing email:
1 person listening