Performance: Musiqa Presents "Island Time"

Things to do
0 Love It
Save it
Performance: Musiqa Presents "Island Time"
More Less
Performance: Musiqa Presents "Island Time" says
Musiqa presents a special concert present in collaboration with the exhibition "Island Time: Galveston Artist Residency, The First Four Years" in the Zilkha Gallery. Musiqa's program for the evening draws its inspiration from the diverse artworks featured within the exhibition and the rich history and landscape of Galveston Island.

The concert's program is comprised of music by five American and British composers, and is structured around Joan Tower's Island "Prelude," a work originally written for oboe and orchestra and featured on this program in its incarnation for chamber ensemble. The concert also includes David Dzubay's "Threnody" for string quartet, British composer Nicola Le Fanu's "Soliloquy" for solo oboe, Welsh composer Hilary Tann's "Duo" for oboe and viola, and Nina C. Young's "Meditation," a duo for violin and cello.

For this program oboist Alecia Lawyer who will be joined by violinists Natalie Lin and Lin Lin Huang, violist Suzanne LeFevre, and cellist Francesca McNeely.

This concert is free and open to the public; seating is limited.

About Musiqa:
Winner of the 2013 Chamber Music America/ASCAP Adventurous Programming Award, Musiqa is a non-profit organization dedicated to the performance of contemporary classical music. Founded in 2002 and led by five composers, Musiqa aims to enrich and inspire the community through programs that integrate contemporary music with other modern art forms. Musiqa celebrates modern creative arts through interdisciplinary concerts that highlight modern music and its connections to literature, film, dance, art, and more. With its innovative collaborations and educational programming, Musiqa strives to make modern repertoire accessible and vital to audiences of all ages and musical backgrounds.
More Less

By: Contemporary Arts Museum Houston

To improve this listing email: