Reading From Freedom Of Expression: Interviews W/ Women In Jazz

Things to do
0 Love It
Save it
Reading From Freedom Of Expression: Interviews W/ Women In Jazz
More Less
The event creator says
This event is free and open to the public, but space is limited. Please RSVP using the following link >> https://www.houstonjazzchurch.com/events/2016/11/20/reading-from-freedom-of-expression-interviews-with-women-in-jazz

In the tradition of Jack Kerouac and Steve Allen, Houston writer and composer Chris Becker will read from his book "Freedom of Expression: Interviews With Women in Jazz," accompanied by Houston jazz pianist Pamela York. York, who is one of the 37 musicians interviewed in the book, will also play some of her own original compositions and arrangements. An audience talk-back/discussion will follow the reading.

This event takes place at The Jazz Church of Houston, an installation created by artist Tierney Malone for Project Row Houses to celebrate the history and current lights of Houston's diverse and influential jazz scene.

"Freedom of Expression: Interviews With Women in Jazz," a collection of interviews with 37 female musicians of all ages, nationalities, and races and representing nearly every style of jazz one can imagine, was released November 16, 2015.

The interviewees, including Terri Lyne Carrington, Dee Dee Bridgewater, Eliane Elias, Anat Cohen, Helen Sung, Diane Schuur, Ellen Seeling, Val Jeanty, Carmen Lundy, Mindi Abair, Cheryl Bentyne, Jane Ira Bloom, Sharel Cassity, Connie Crothers, Jane Monheit, and Sherrie Maricle, speak about their earliest experiences playing music, the years of practice and study required to become a professional musician, and what it means to be a jazz musician in the 21st century. The 320-page book includes a 25-page history of jazz, as well as introductions to each interview, to provide helpful context for readers who are unaware of the contributions by women to the development of this music.
More Less
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/224979174598015
To improve this listing email: feedback@timeout.com