New Voices Young Playwrights Festival

Things to do
New Voices Young Playwrights Festival
More Less
New Voices Young Playwrights Festival says
April 25 and 27 at 7 p.m.
Bingham Theatre

About the New Voices Young Playwrights Festival
Actors Theatre of Louisville is excited to announce the line-up for this year’s New Voices Young Playwrights Festival, an evening of fully produced, brand-new ten-minute plays written by students throughout the region and presented by Actors Theatre’s Apprentice/Intern Company. Inspired by the Humana Festival of New American Plays, each playwright in the New Voices Young Playwrights Festival has the opportunity to develop their play through conversations with peer writers, a dramaturg, a director and cast. Through playwright workshops, dramaturgy discussions, production meetings and rehearsals, the New Voices playwrights play an active integral role in the shaping of their production.

The eight plays that will be a part of the festival this year are:

Opus: An Exploration of Meta-Narratives through Freudian Analysis
by Gilman Bagga, St. Francis High School
directed by Jane B. Jones
dramaturgy by Keith McGill

The LIE Mission
by Maria Cora, Floyd Central High School
directed by Jonathan Harper Schlieman
dramaturgy by Kate Cuellar

Zero to One Hundred (Real Quick)
by Drew Etheridge, Jeffersonville High School
directed by Lexy Leuszler
dramaturgy by Helena Pennington

by Michaela French, Atherton High School
directed by Jenn Oswald
dramaturgy by Michael Whatley

The Big Daddy Pop-Tart Booster
by Jacob Hack, Kentucky School for the Blind
directed by Betsy Anne Huggins
dramaturgy by Kyle Whalen

Image of Beauty
by Kay Nilest, Assumption High School
directed by James Kennedy
dramaturgy by Sara Durham

The Devil in Little Debbie
by Zoe Peterson, Ballard High School
directed by Nick O’Leary
dramaturgy by Janelle Baker

The Problem
by Joel Pizano, Fern Creek Traditional High School
directed by Jes Childress
dramaturgy by Talleri McRae

The Cast

The 2015-2016 Actors Theatre Acting Apprentice Company: Austin Blunk, Lisa Bol, Michael T. Brown, Glenna Brucken, Michael Fell, Tracey Green, Mbali Guliwe, Alejandro Hernandez, Hannah Karpenko, Yaron Lotan, Esaú Mora, Ari Shapiro, Jayson Speters, Adenike Thomas, Walls Trimble, Sara Turner, Kyle Whalen, Addison Williams, Park Williams, and Amelia Windom.

All tickets are FREE
To reserve a ticket follow the link or call box office at 502.584.1205
Limit four tickets per household
More Less

By: Actors Theatre of Louisville

1 person listening