Enslaved With Yob And Ecstatic Vision

0 Love It
Save it
Enslaved With Yob And Ecstatic Vision

The content on this page is provided by a Time Out partner.

Enslaved was formed in 1991 by Ivar Bjørnson and Grutle Kjellson, and did their first demo “Yggdrasill” in the summer of 1992, while the legendary mini-album “Hordanes Land” was released the year after in 1993. Enslaved’s debut “Vikingligr Veldi” came in the spring of 1994, while the successful second album “Frost” was released already winter 1994. In many ways “Eld” (’97) marked the opening of a horizon-widening era for the band, with a small detour on “Blodhemn” the following year: Enslaved’s most furious and black-edged effort to date. “Mardraum (Beyond the Within)” was released in 2000; taking on an experimental and innovative approach for Extreme Metal. The band followed up with “Monumension” in 2001; receiving more (pleasantly) surprising positive response to their “no rules” approach to Extreme Metal. Many see an important milestone being “Below the Lights” (’03) - where the progressive yet darker Enslaved emerged. A new line-up was put together after the recording of “Below the Lights”, marking the opening of a new, shimmering chapter. The new line-up released the album “Isa” in late 2004, and the album put Enslaved at the very forefront of contemporary Extreme Metal; both as a recording and live artist – proving the latter with the release of acclaimed live-DVD “Return to Yggdrasill”. “Ruun” was released in 2006, and received numerous great reviews from fans, magazines and websites worldwide. Early 2007 Enslaved sat out on their first full tour through USA and Canada since the late 90s; following up with treks all over Europe and more North America. Back in the studio the band conjured up “Vertebrae” (’08) together with mixer Joe Baresi – an album that spread across the globe like fire with extensive promotion and extensive touring. More inspired than ever the band worked on a new album throughout 2009, and started recording during the first weeks of 2010. The band’s first co-operation with mixer Jens Bogren; “Axioma Ethica Odini” received Enslaved’s 4th consecutive Norwegian Grammy in the Metal category (“Isa”, “Ruun” and “Vertebrae” receiving the three previous awards). Enslaved have been touring in Norway, Europe and North America since; and released two highly exclusive EPs during 2011: a give-away 10” (“The Sleeping Gods”), and a very limited 7” (“Thorn”). Never ones for resting, Enslaved worked intensely with an album throughout all of this – and in 2012 they inked a worldwide deal with leading label Nuclear Blast Records. This all resulted in Enslaved’s groundbreaking 2012-album “Riitiir”. As with the two previous albums, the team of producers once again came from within the band: Bjørnson, Larsen and Grutle – now strengthened through the addition of Iver Sandøy. The latter facilitated the recordings in Bergen’s Duper and Solslottet Studios, while large parts of the recording once again was done in the band members’ own studios in Bergen; securing a unique sound closer than ever to the natural and trademark sound from Enslaved’s instruments and amplification. The mix and mastering was handled by respectively Jens Bogren and Tony Lindgren; both from Fascination Street Studios. One of Enslaved’s trademarks has been the magnificent paintings that adorn the covers, and “Riitiir” is no exception. Norwegian artist Truls Espedal, who has worked with the band since 2001, has outdone himself – the artwork for “Riitiir” found the way to many of 2012 top-lists; along with the album itself. 2013 became a year of expansion for Enslaved, with North American and European tours, and of course more festival appearances around the world. It also became the year when Enslaved finally made its way down under to Australia, a highly memorable and successful endeavor. Upon returning at the end of the year, songwriting once again commenced and 2014 were set to be the year when Enslaved took yet another step up, out, forward and whatever directions there are. The year started with supporting Swedish brother-in-beards Amon Amarth. Then the summer and autumn two highly public commissioned pieces in Norway, and recording a new album. As 2014 draws to an end, there are storms brewing: festivals are being booked en masse, the new album “In Times” will be out worldwide early March 2015, accompanied by a North American tour starting March 5th. Look out! www.enslaved.no / www.facebook.com/enslaved / www.twitter.com/enslavedband Lineup: Ivar Bjørnson (guitar), Grutle Kjellson (vocal & bass), Cato Bekkevold (drums), Herbrand Larsen (keyboard & vocal), Ice Dale (solo guitar) DISCOGRAPHY 1992 - Enslaved – Yggdrasill (promotape) 1993 - Enslaved - ”Hordanes Land” (minialbum) 1994 - Enslaved - ”Vikingligr Veldi” (debutalbum) 1994 - Enslaved - ”Frost” 1997 - Enslaved - “Eld” 1998 - Enslaved - “Blodhemn” 2000 - Enslaved - ”Mardraum (Beyond the Within)” 2001 - Enslaved - ”Monumension” 2002 - Enslaved – “Live Retaliation” (live DVD) 2003 - Enslaved - “Below the Lights” 2004 - Enslaved - “ISA” 2005 - Enslaved – ”Return to Yggdrasill: Live in Bergen” (live DVD) 2006 - Enslaved - ”Ruun” 2008 - Enslaved - ”Vertebrae” 2010 – Enslaved – ”Axioma Ethica Odini” 2011 - Enslaved - “The Sleeping Gods” (EP) 2011 - Enslaved – „Thorn“ (EP) 2012 - Enslaved – “RiitiiR” 2015 - Enslaved – “IN TIMES” AWARDS Nominated for Norwegian Grammy ”Album of the year 2012” (category: metal) Received Honorary Award from The Norwegian Artist & Songwriter Association 2011 Winner of Norwegian Grammy ”Album of the year 2010” (category: metal) Winner of Bergensprisen ”Album of the year 2008” (all categories) Winner of Norwegian Grammy ”Album of the year 2008” (category: metal) Winner of Norwegian Grammy ”Album of the year 2006” (category: metal) Winner of Norwegian Grammy ”Album of the year 2004” (category: metal) Winner of Alarmprisen ”Album of the year 2004” (category: metal) Winner of Bergensprisen ”Album of the year 2004” (all categories) Nominated for Norwegian Grammy ”Album of the year 2003” (category: metal) Nominated for Alarmprisen ”Album of the year 2003” (category: metal) Nominated for Norwegian Grammy ”Album of the year 2001” (category: metal) Nominated for Alarmprisen ”Album of the year 2001” (category: metal)

By: Mill City Nights