Walker Stage: Music For Merce, A Two Night Celebration

Things to do
Walker Stage: Music For Merce, A Two Night Celebration
More Less
Walker Stage: Music For Merce, A Two Night Celebration says
Thu Feb 23, 8 pm (Program A)
Fri Feb 24, 8 pm (Program B)
$28 ($22.40 Walker Members)
$50 for both nights

“Cunningham made room for music, and the composers created music that made room for movement. An invitation always went out to listen.” —Los Angeles Times

Cunningham and longtime partner/composer John Cage were renowned for their legendary collaborations with the most significant experimental musicians of the late 20th and early 21st centuries. Join us to celebrate this remarkable legacy over two historic evenings with a festival of music and sound performances curated by composer/guitarist John King. Featured with King are electronic music pioneers and fellow longtime Merce Cunningham Dance Company associates David Behrman and FAST FORWARD, contemporary classical composer Christian Wolff, and composer/performers Joan La Barbara, Ikue Mori, George Lewis, Zeena Parkins, and Radiohead’s Philip Selway with London multi-instrumentalist Quinta. Each evening consists of a separate set of solo, duo, ensemble, and landmark works, concluding with a collectively made real-time composition.

Program A: Thursday, February 23

Christian Wolff, “Or 4 People” (1994)
Performed by Christian Wolff, George Lewis, David Behrman, and John King

Joan La Barbara, “Solitary Journeys of the Mind” (2011)
Performed by Joan La Barbara

Philip Selway/Quinta, “Yaasholl” (2014)
Performed by Philip Selway, Quinta, and Ikue Mori

Philip Selway/Quinta, “One Note Arpeggio” (2014)
Performed by Philip Selway and Quinta

Philip Selway/Quinta, “Of Course I Do” (2014)
Performed by Philip Selway, Quinta, and John King

John Cage, “Fontana Mix” with “Aria” and “Indeterminacy” (1958–ongoing)
Performed simultaneously by Ikue Mori and David Behrman, Joan La Barbara, and Fast Forward

David Tudor, Untitled (1975/94)
Performed by John King

John King, “petite ouverture en forme de mErCE CunninGHAm” (2009)

Performed by Christian Wolff, Quinta, George Lewis, and John King

Closing event performed by full ensemble

Program B: Friday, February 24

George Lewis, “Shadowgraph, 5” (1977)
Performed by Joan La Barbara, George Lewis, Ikue Mori, Zeena Parkins, Quinta, and Fast Forward

Zeena Parkins, “Captiva Pieces for Acoustic Harp and Processing” (2016–ongoing)
Performed by Zeena Parkins and David Behrman

David Behrman, “Long Throw” (2007–ongoing)
Performed by David Behrman, Christian Wolff, John King George Lewis, Zeena Parkins, and Quinta

Ikue Mori
Solo performed by Ikue Mori

Duet performed by Ikue Mori and Christian Wolff
Earle Brown, “December” (1952) and “November” (1952) (performed simultaneously)

Performed by Zeena Parkins, Joan La Barbara, Quinta, George Lewis, Philip Selway, and Christian Wolff

Fast Forward, “Octopoda” (2017)
Performed by Fast Forward, Ikue Mori, Phil Selway, and George Lewis

Closing event performed by full ensemble

Part of Merce Cunningham: Common Time
More Less

By: Walker Art Center