Will Tinkham Reads From The Great American Scrapbook

Things to do
0 Love It
Save it
Will Tinkham Reads From The Great American Scrapbook
More Less
Magers & Quinn Booksellers says
Beginning during George W. Bush's “Mission Accomplished” speech of May 1, 2003 and culminating on Election Night '04, The Great American Scrapbook (Americana #5) follows more important issues like Brock McCoy falling in love, the perils of three fictional Minneapolis rock 'n' roll bands, and two long-lost siblings' efforts to maintain the historical significance of a newspaper woman murdered in the 1920s.

Brock, 31, lives in his mother's basement. Newly returned from Toronto, he stumbles into a gig as bass player in an all-female rock band—and must dress the part. He falls in love with Jenna on lead guitar. Back home he does what he can to ease the burden on his sister Nancy and her Gulf War I-related PTSD, as well as comfort his mother and her back that just won't heal. On a table in the basement is an old scrapbook that Brock helps Peaches try to turn into something publishable.

While Grace, the murdered scribe, wrote unflinchingly about war, racism and religion, Brock flinches often as he comes to grips with the fact that nothing's really changed.

The Great American Scrapbook is the fifth novel in Will Tinkham's Americana series, following The Adventures of Hank Fenn, Bonus Man (excerpted twice for Saint Paul Almanac), No Happier State (serialized for Radio Talking Book), and Alice and Her Grand Bell. He lives and writes in Minneapolis. @WillTinkhamfictionist on Facebook and willtinkham.blogspot.com.
More Less

By: Magers & Quinn Booksellers

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/604821319697273
To improve this listing email: feedback@timeout.com
1 person listening