Worldwide icon-chevron-right The Bolshoi Ballet is streaming ‘The Nutcracker’ next week for free
‘The Nutcracker’ at the Bolshoi
Photograph: Damir Yusupov/Bolshoi Theatre The Nutcracker

The Bolshoi Ballet is streaming ‘The Nutcracker’ next week for free

Advertising

It might not feel much like Christmas right now, but for barre fiends and balletomanes alike, the Bolshoi Ballet in Moscow has conjured a super-special festive gift: it’s streaming the entirety of ‘The Nutcracker’ on YouTube next week for free.

Tchaikovsky’s classic ballet is one of a series of performances the Bolshoi Theatre is airing on its YouTube channel while it is closed amid the ongoing global lockdown. Each show forms part of its so-called ‘Golden Collection’ of renowned ballets and operas, from ‘Swan Lake’ to ‘The Sleeping Beauty’ via ‘The Tsar’s Bride’.

Upcoming highlights in the digital series – a first for the theatre – include a 2014 performance of comic ballet ‘Marco Spada’ on Friday April 3; the 2019 adaptation of opera ‘Boris Godunov’, starring acclaimed bass Mikhail Kazakov, on Tuesday April 7; and a bound-to-be-spectacular finale of ‘The Nutcracker’ on Friday April 10. Each performance starts at 7pm Moscow time (noon ET, 5pm BST, 2am AEST) and will remain on the theatre’s YouTube channel for 24 hours.

Feeling demotivated during your home barre workout? Catch the Sugar Plum Fairy’s iconic pas de deux and you’ll no doubt come away inspired.

More things to do at home?

Tour the Great Barrier Reef with David Attenborough

Check out a classic Andrew Lloyd Webber musical

Stream a DJ set from one of Berlin’s coolest clubs

Share the story
Latest news
    Advertising