Dirty River Booklaunch, Seattle/ Unceded Duwamish Territories

Things to do
0 Love It
Save it
Dirty River Booklaunch, Seattle/ Unceded Duwamish Territories
More Less
The event creator says
At last, come to the Seattle book launch for Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha's long-awaited memoir, Dirty River!

There will be readings, snacks, books for sale and I will sign your books, and other sweet treats. Perfect for aging queer punks of color, survivors who want to read a book about how weird the whole process of survival is, desi weirdos, any kind of queer femme of color, and people who are none of the above.

access details:
wheelchair accessible to get and and bathrooms
please come fragrance free for real.
capacity around 45 folks, seat priority will be given to folks who are disabled/ in pain

about the book:

In 1996, poet Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha caught a Greyhound bus and ran away to Canada. She ended up in Toronto, where she was welcomed by a community of queer punks of colour offering promises of love and revolution, yet she remained haunted by the reasons she left home in the first place. This passionate, riveting memoir is a mixtape of dreams and nightmares, of immigration court lineups and queer South Asian dance nights; it is an intensely personal road map and an intersectional, tragicomic tale that reveals how a disabled queer woman of colour and abuse survivor navigates the dirty river of the not-so-distant past and, as the subtitle suggests, "dreams her way home."

Dirty River is a candid and comic view from the tattooed underbelly of contemporary life. There is no syrup in this survivor's tale, yet the sun does shine through these shadows, making you cheer for the hero(ine) in her odyssey to know her true self. —Jewelle Gomez, author of The Gilda Stories

Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha's newest book is the powerful, badass, and important story of a young queer femme of color's coming of age on her own terms. Intersectional and glittering and raw, this book has bite -- it's a kind of primal yell for all us survivors of abuse, as we pull together and howl and love and live. —Randa Jarrar, author of A Map of Home

Dirty River will give you back the life you stole and saved: your own. In the tradition of June Jordan's Soldier, Audre Lorde's Zami, Asha Bandele's Something Like Beautiful, and Staceyann Chin's The Other Side of Paradise, Dirty River is a memoir that will make you itch all over while you read it and emerge having shed another layer of internalized doubt. You are brave enough to face this honest, transformative work, because you are brave enough to be who you are. —Alexis Pauline Gumbs, co-editor of Revolutionary Mothering

Fierce and seductive. Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha is the kind of writer who reminds us with every turn of phrase and every turn of the page that art exorcises trauma, running can be good medicine, and the freedom to be our very own freaks is the happiest ending we might ever hope for. —Ariel Gore, author of The End of Eve and Atlas of the Human Heart
More Less
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/1726962077589942
To improve this listing email: feedback@timeout.com