Freedommune Zero<0> A New Zero

Freedommune Zero<0> A New Zero

NOTE: Ticket reservations are now being taken via Google+. If you can navigate the Japanese interface, head to the Freedommune Zero event page, select 'Going' and then fill out the 'Tickets' form. Alternatively, spend over ¥3,000 at the Freedommune booth at Tower Records Shibuya from July 20, and you'll get a ticket with your purchase. Oh, and if you hung onto your invitation card from last year's festival, that's still valid too.

See the timetable on the official website

Live-streaming supremos Dommune fell at the final hurdle when they tried to hold their own music festival last year: the inaugural Freedommune Zero ended up being called off after heavy rains left its Kawasaki site dangerously waterlogged. Following the example of Metamorphose Spring '12, they aren't taking any chances with the second attempt: Freedommune Zero<0> A New Zero will be held indoors, at the Makuhari Messe conference centre in Chiba.

The lineup so far features many familiar faces from Dommune broadcasts gone by, along with – get this – the brain of early 20th century writer Soseki Natsume, whose 1,425g noggin has been preserved at Tokyo University. There'll also be four stages and around 40 foreign and domestic artists taking part, spearheaded by former Ash Ra Tempel leader Manuel Göttsching, who'll be playing a March 11-themed version of his proto-house album E2-E4. Once again, it's free to get in (invitations from last year's cancelled fest are valid, with details to come about how to make advance reservations), though they'll be using the occasion to raise money for the Tohoku region. Here's the lineup so far...

Live: ATAK Dance Hall, Fushitsusha, Manuel Göttsching, Hijokaidan, Tetsuya Komuro, Heiko Laux, Logic System, The Lowbrows, Merzbow, Tavito Nanao, NHK, John Roberts, Simi Lab, Taco/Harumi Yamazaki, Etsuko Yakushimaru, Otomo Yoshihide
DJ: Altz, Black Forest, Chim↑Pom x Why Sheep?, CMT, Cos/Mes, DVS1, Fragment x Leno, Haruka, Ken Ishii, Juzu aka Moochy, Kabuto, Hiroshi Kawanabe, Kurusu, Heiko Laux, L?K?O, Maboroshi no Meiban Kaiho Dome, Moodman, Nobu, Ryosuke, Shhhhh, Kenji Takimi, Toby, Towa Tei, Traks Boys, DJ Wada