All Set! Autumn Release Show

Things to do
All Set! Autumn Release Show
More Less
All Set! Autumn Release Show says
All-Set! Editions is pleased to announce a trio of new releases for autumn 2016. This time around we have sophomore releases from See Through 5 and Aurochs, and the debut from The Mike Smith Company, launched with live performances by each group.

Act I (8pm)
See Through 5 is a chamber-prog outfit led by Toronto composer and bassist Pete Johnston. Their sophomore effort Margins delivers a minimalism-informed take on the rhythms of contemporary electronic dance music and the fantasy electro-acoustic sound worlds of 1970s progressive rock.

See Through 5: Pete Johnston - bass, Karen Ng - saxophone, Tania Gill - piano, Mike Smith- electronics, Jake Oelrichs - drums

Act II (9pm)
Aurochs returns with Another Helpful Medicine, produced by Barnyard Records’ mastermind Jean Martin. If that weren’t enough, Mike Smith is aboard this time on electronic manipulations of Ali Berkok’s piano, Jake Oelrichs’s drums, and Pete Johnston’s bass. Another Helpful Medicine features one slowly unfolding improvised piece, building on the band’s captivating live performances that have garnered them a loyal following in Toronto.

Aurochs: Ali Berkok - piano, Pete Johnston - bass, Jake Oelrichs - drums, Mike Smith - electronics, Jean Martin - electronics

Act III (10pm)
Mike Smith returns with a large group that brings together the delightfully wobbly synthesizer noodling of Transcombobulation with the intricate, multi-layered compositions of his former band Muskox. Enlisting an impressive crew of far out musicians from Toronto and beyond, Famous Wildlife Movies demonstrates Smith’s characteristic stylistic infidelity with whiffs of mangled salsa, peg-leg grooves, simple melodies and a heavy dose of the Mothers circa ’68.

The Mike Smith Company: Jonathan Adjemian, Ali Berkok - keys; Jamie Drake, Blake Howard, Jake Oelrichs - percussion; Jay Hay, Karen Ng, Jeremy Strachan - winds; Rebecca Hennessy, Tom Richards, Heather Saumer - brass; Pete Johnston - bass; Mika Posen - violin

$20 admission for the show and one disc. Discs will be $10 each.

Many aspects of All-Set! activites have been generously supported by the Canada Council for the Arts, the Ontario Arts Council, and the Toronto Arts Council. Many thanks!!
More Less

By: Aurochs

1 person listening