New Alexandra Theatre

Theatre Central Birmingham
0 Love It
Save it
New Alexandra Theatre

Touring shows and musicals are this theatre’s mainstay, alongside stand-up acts and musical gigs

For a while, New Alexandra Theatre had something of a suspect reputation, thanks to a programme that offered a few too many visiting celebrity psychics and not enough actual theatre. 

That’s much less of a concern these days, with more classy musicals and touring shows helping to bolster its image as a commercial theatre with taste, alongside the occasional visit from Jethro.

Considerably older than the Birmingham Rep, it holds the dubious honour of being the location of actress Gracie Housley’s death in 1902 when she collapsed on stage. Once a repertory theatre, the actual entrance of the Alex (only known as the ‘New’ Alex since the Ambassador Theatre Group took things over a few years back) was originally situated in St John Bright Street, but is now next to the busy Suffolk Street Queensway, linked to the rest of the building by a bridge that hovers above the revellers at the nearby Victoria pub.

As well as theatre, the Alex offers slots for touring musicians looking for a more respectable gig venue, and comedians who’ve graduated from arts centres but haven’t quite made it to arena status yet (or don’t want to). Cutting-edge theatre it might not be, but what it does, the Alex does very well indeed.

By: David Baldwin

Posted:

Venue name: New Alexandra Theatre
Contact:
Address: Station Street
Birmingham
B5 4DS
Transport: Rail: New Street Station
Do you own this business?

Pick a date

to
  • Latin and world Saturday April 29 2017
  • Stand-up Sunday April 30 2017
  • Musicals Tuesday May 2 2017 - Saturday May 6 2017
  • Covers bands Monday May 8 2017
  • Covers bands Thursday May 11 2017
  • Stand-up Friday May 12 2017
  • Saturday May 13 2017
  • Funk, soul and disco Friday May 19 2017
  • Stand-up Saturday May 20 2017
  • Musicals Tuesday May 23 2017 - Saturday May 27 2017
  • Show more
LiveReviews|0
1 person listening