New Alexandra Theatre

Theatre Central Birmingham
0 Love It
Save it
New Alexandra Theatre

The content on this page is provided by a Time Out partner.

Touring shows and musicals are this theatre’s mainstay, alongside stand-up acts and musical gigs

For a while, New Alexandra Theatre had something of a suspect reputation, thanks to a programme that offered a few too many visiting celebrity psychics and not enough actual theatre. 

That’s much less of a concern these days, with more classy musicals and touring shows helping to bolster its image as a commercial theatre with taste, alongside the occasional visit from Jethro.

Considerably older than the Birmingham Rep, it holds the dubious honour of being the location of actress Gracie Housley’s death in 1902 when she collapsed on stage. Once a repertory theatre, the actual entrance of the Alex (only known as the ‘New’ Alex since the Ambassador Theatre Group took things over a few years back) was originally situated in St John Bright Street, but is now next to the busy Suffolk Street Queensway, linked to the rest of the building by a bridge that hovers above the revellers at the nearby Victoria pub.

As well as theatre, the Alex offers slots for touring musicians looking for a more respectable gig venue, and comedians who’ve graduated from arts centres but haven’t quite made it to arena status yet (or don’t want to). Cutting-edge theatre it might not be, but what it does, the Alex does very well indeed.

By: David Baldwin


Venue name: New Alexandra Theatre
Address: Station Street
B5 4DS
Transport: Rail: Birmingham New Street
Do you own this business?

Pick a date

  • Musicals Until Saturday March 24 2018
  • Circuses Sunday March 25 2018
  • Tuesday March 27 2018 - Saturday March 31 2018
  • Dance and electronic Sunday April 1 2018
  • Rap, hip hop and R&B Sunday April 1 2018
  • Musicals Tuesday April 3 2018 - Saturday April 7 2018
  • Musicals Sunday April 8 2018
  • Musicals Tuesday April 10 2018
  • Musicals Monday April 16 2018 - Saturday April 21 2018
  • Comedy Sunday April 22 2018
  • Show more

You may be interested in:

1 person listening