John King trips

Bristol Harbour

Embrace the history of Bristol’s iconic harbour with a trip on the John King, a diesel tug boat built in 1935 to tow cargo ships from the City Docks to the mouth of the River Avon.

The John King spent 35 years towing, whilst also supplying drinking water to ships in dry dock, assisting with ship launchings, shifting vessels into dry dock and sometimes pulling grounded boats back into deep water.

Its eventual demise came when motor ships became less reliant on tugs and the docks were in decline, but the long-serving John King was then bought by Bristol Museums and has since been restored to its former glory. Trips last 30 minutes.


1 person listening