Old Vic

Theatre Central Bristol
0 Love It
Save it
Old Vic
Philip Vile

The content on this page is provided by a Time Out partner.

Centuries-old theatre that's host to some of the most exciting new productions in Bristol

The Bristol Old Vic was the city’s original speakeasy. Back in ye olde Georgian times, the Theatre Royal was built without the knowledge of the authorities. To enter, you had to knock on the front door of a certain Mr Foote on King Street, behind whose house was the hidden front door of the theatre.

Remarkably, within the next few years, the original 250-year-old fabric of the Old Vic will be permanently on display from King Street for the first time ever, as part of ambitious front of house redevelopment plans.

History means a lot here, but that doesn’t mean the theatre is stuck in the past – far from it. With Tom ‘War Horse’ Morris at the artistic helm, who arrived here from the National in 2009, the Old Vic has seen a creative renaissance. You’re as likely to see a challenging and experimental work-in-progress piece in the studio as a rip-roaring family friendly yarn in the main auditorium. And with a thriving, young company, the future of the Old Vic is in safe hands.

By: Betty James


Venue name: Old Vic
Address: King Street
Transport: Rail: Bristol Temple Meads
Do you own this business?

Pick a date

  • Drama Until Saturday April 7 2018
  • Drama Tuesday April 10 2018 - Saturday April 14 2018
  • Stand-up Sunday April 15 2018
  • Drama Tuesday April 17 2018 - Saturday April 21 2018
  • Comedy Thursday April 26 2018 - Friday April 27 2018
  • Tuesday July 10 2018 - Saturday July 14 2018

You may be interested in:

1 person listening