Gail Godwin Presents Grief Cottage

Things to do
0 Love It
Save it
Gail Godwin Presents Grief Cottage
More Less
Parnassus Books says
Parnassus Books is thrilled to welcome Gail Godwin.

Her new novel, Grief Cottage, is haunting tale of a desolate cottage, and the hair-thin junction between this life and the next.

After his mother's death, eleven-year-old Marcus is sent to live on a small South Carolina island with his great aunt, a reclusive painter with a haunted past. Aunt Charlotte points out a ruined cottage, telling Marcus she had visited it regularly after she'd moved there thirty years ago because it matched the ruin of her own life. Eventually she was inspired to take up painting so she could capture its utter desolation.

Grief Cottage is the best sort of ghost story, but it is far more than that—an investigation of grief, remorse, and the memories that haunt us. The power and beauty of this artful novel wash over the reader like the waves on a South Carolina beach.

Gail Godwin is a three-time National Book Award finalist and the bestselling author of twelve critically acclaimed novels, including Violet Clay, Father Melancholy's Daughter, Evensong, The Good Husband and Evenings at Five. She is also the author of The Making of a Writer, her journal in two volumes. She has received a Guggenheim Fellowship, National Endowment for the Arts grants for both fiction and libretto writing, and the Award in Literature from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. Originally from Alabama, Gail Godwin lives in Woodstock, New York.

“Godwin's riveting and wise story of the slow coalescence of trust and love between a stoic artist and a grieving boy . . . subtly and insightfully explores different forms of haunting and vulnerability, strength and survival . . . Word will spread quickly about Godwin's tender and spellbinding supernatural novel.” – Starred Review, Booklist

For more information or to pre-order a book, visit:
More Less

By: Parnassus Books

To improve this listing email: