Contemporary Jewish Museum

Things to do SoMa
2 Love It
Save it
Contemporary Jewish Museum
Photograph: Bruce Damonte
Contemporary Jewish Museum

Dedicated to linking the art of the Jewish community with the community at large, the Contemporary Jewish Museum sheds light on works and people that have influenced Jewish culture, traditions and ideas. The striking building, designed by Daniel Libeskind, is carved out of a 1907 Willis Polk power substation that marries the old Beaux Arts brick facade to a shiny, modern blue-steel cube. Libeskind based the design on the Hebrew letters of the word “chai” (life). Inside, soaring skylights and enormous windows illuminate exhibits ranging from Yiddish music to the history of the kibbutz and the work of photographer Arnold Newman. The café offers excellent contemporary Jewish comfort food from Wise Sons Deli.

Posted:

Venue name: Contemporary Jewish Museum
Contact:
Address: 736 Mission St
San Francisco

Cross street: between 3rd and 4th Sts
Opening hours: Mon, Tue, Fri–Sun 11am–5pm; Thu 11am–8pm
Transport: BART & Metro to Montgomery/ Bus 5, 8AX, 8BX, 8X, 10, 14, 14X, 21, 30, 31, 45, 70, 80, 81X, 91, 101, 101X, 292, 397, KX
Price: $12, seniors and students $10, children under 18 free. Thu after 5pm $5.
To improve this listing email: feedback@timeout.com

Pick a date

to
  • Wednesday April 26 2017
  • Thursday May 11 2017
  • Sunday May 21 2017
  • Thursday May 25 2017
  • Friday May 26 2017
  • Thursday June 1 2017
  • Friday June 2 2017
  • Friday June 9 2017
  • Thursday June 15 2017
  • Friday June 16 2017
  • Show more
LiveReviews|0
1 person listening