Get us in your inbox

The Rolling Stones will release a new album in December

Anna Rahmanan
Written by
Anna Rahmanan

For the first time in over a decade, iconic band Rolling Stones will be releasing a new studio album this upcoming December. 

Covering American blues songs that they performed while still a young band playing around London, Mick Jagger, Keith Richards, Ronnie Wood and Charlie Watts recorded the album, named Blue & Lonesome, last December in a mere three days at London's British Grove Studio—with no overdubs.

"We went in to cut some new songs, which we did," guitarist Ron Wood said back in April. "But we got on a blues streak. We cut 11 blues in two days. They are extremely great cover versions of Howlin' Wolf and Little Walter, among other blues people. But they really sound authentic […] When we heard them back after not hearing them for a couple of months, we were, 'Who's that? It's you.' It sounded so authentic."

Guitarist and singer Eric Clapton, who happened to be recording his own album across the hall, joined the band for two of the record's 12 tracks ("I Can't Quit You Baby" and "Everybody Knows About My Good Thing").

"This album is manifest testament to the purity of their love for making music, and the blues is, for the Stones, the fountainhead of everything they do," album co-producer Don Was said in a statement. 

Teasing today's announcement earlier this week, the group posted a series of video snippets on Twitter and officially debuted the album's cover artwork—a blue version of the band's iconic tongue-and-lips logo.

You can preorder the album on the band's website or wait until December 2, 2016, for its official release. Below, the full track list:

1. "Just Your Fool"
2. "Commit A Crime"
3. "Blue and Lonesome"
4. "All Of Your Love"
5. "I Gotta Go"
6. "Everybody Knows About My Good Thing"
7. "Ride ‘Em On Down"
8. "Hate To See You Go"
9. "Hoo Doo Blues"
10. "Little Rain"
11. "Just Like I Treat You"
12. "I Can’t Quit You Baby"

Latest news