Summer music festival guide: The best shows in NYC

The best concerts, hottest festival looks and dazzling live-music photos

0

Comments

Add +
Celebrate Brooklyn in Prospect Park

Celebrate Brooklyn in Prospect Park Photograph: Ryan Muir


Music festivals have become as essential a feature of summer in the city as ice-skating and hot chocolate are to winter in New York: It's part of the reason why you live here. What makes New York's summer music festival scene better than anywhere else's? We'll start with the beautiful weather, then add the fact that you'll be watching your favorite bands play in truly iconic surroundings—say, Central Park, or at Williamsburg Park with the Manhattan skyline looming, or Randall's Island. Then there's the people—check out any of our street fashion slide shows for proof that New Yorkers are a snappy-ass bunch when it comes to festival gear. Wherever you decide to hang, just don't forget that '80s sun visor.

RECOMMENDED: Summer concerts in NYC

2014 summer music festivals

  1. Prospect Park Prospect Park West to Flatbush Ave, between Prospect Park Southwest and Ocean Ave
  2. Wed Jun 4
More info
  1. Randalls Island Park Robert F. Kennedy Bridge, at Randalls Island
  2. Fri Jun 6 - Sun Jun 8
More info
  1. Roulette 509 Atlantic Ave, between Nevins St and Third Ave, 11217
  2. Wed Jun 11 - Sun Jun 15
More info
  1. McCarren Park Bayard St to Nassau Ave, between Leonard and North 12 Sts
  2. Thu Jun 12 - Thu Jun 19
More info
  1. Central Park 59th St to 110th St, between Fifth and Eighth Aves
  2. Sun Jun 29 - Sat Aug 30
More info
  1. Randalls Island Park Robert F. Kennedy Bridge, at Randalls Island
  2. Fri Aug 29 - Sun Aug 31
More info



Best summer music venues

  1. Prospect Park West, (at 9th St)
Book online
  1. Rumsey Playfield, Central Park, (enter at Fifth Ave and 72nd St)
Book online
  1. Enter park at Fifth Ave , (at 69th St)
More info

Williamsburg Park

  • Price band: 2/4
  1. Kent Ave, (at North 12th St)
More info


Users say

0 comments