Built in 1760 for a wealthy British naval officer, the house was used as a hospital during the Revolutionary War, then housed five generations of another prosperous family before becoming a museum in 1924. Its decor spans a variety of periods, and includes collections of Victorian card cases and late 19th-century clothing. Visitors can freely roam its two acres of landscaped lawns and gardens, but may only enter the house with a guided tour.
|Venue name:||Loring-Greenough House||Contact:|
12 South Street
at Centre Street
|Opening hours:||Open 10am-noon Sat; noon-2pm Sun; or by appointment.|
|Transport:||Green St T then 15min walk, or Forest Hills T then bus 39.|