Young Widows / Shannon Wright

0 Love It
Save it
Young Widows / Shannon Wright

The content on this page is provided by a Time Out partner.

Louisville's creatively restless dark-rock auteurs Young Widows released their new full length Easy Pain via longtime label Temporary Residence, Ltd. in May 2014. Recorded with Kevin Ratterman (My Morning Jacket) the new set is far and away the trio's densest, most disturbingly addictive record yet. Easy Pain melds the strengths of their past and their tenacity for the future to forge an album perfectly befitting their merciless moniker; the lyrics and vocal delivery are more expressive and dynamic, the guitars are enormous, the drums are pummeling, and the trademark gut-churning bass is more jaw-dropping than ever. In the three years since the widescreen atmospherics of 2011's In and Out of Youth and Lightness, Young Widows set their sites on crafting a set of songs that brims with visceral ferocity. The results are so suited to the subsuming force of the trio's forceful live presence that the group recently debuted the album as a series of live performances in New York and Philadelphia, immediately galvanizing the support of their fanbase. Disregarding all boundaries and pushing forward with a masterful command of post-punk, noise rock, pseudo industrial, experimental doom, and goth, Young Widows emit the intimidating force of a 10-piece with the heart and soul of a classic power trio. Evan Patterson: Vocals / Guitar Jeremy McMonigle: Drums Nick Thieneman: Bass / Vocals

By: Grog Shop

Event website:
To improve this listing email: