croatia, hrvatska, us, usa, america, flag
Canva / One Design Use License

Croatian citizens can visit the United States visa-free from December 1

Lara Rasin
Written by
Lara Rasin

On September 28, 2021, Croatia officially joined the United States' Visa Waiver Programme. As a result, by the end of the year, Croatian citizens will be able to travel as tourists to the US - visa-free!

Croatia's Prime Minister Andrej Plenković Tweeted, "We welcome the Department of Homeland Security's decision to include Croatia in the Visa Waiver Programme. Croatian citizens who will be able to travel to the US without visas will benefit the most. With the realization of this foreign policy, we will further strengthen the ties between 🇭🇷 and 🇺🇸!"

"All Croatian citizens will be able to travel to the United States without visas no later than December 1. This is the end of a long path of negotiations and evaluations, but above all, it's the continuation and strengthening of the strategic partnership between our countries," Croatia's Deputy Prime Minister Davor Božinović wrote on Twitter following the announcement of the decision.

US politicians also took to the platform to offer their congratulations. This included US Ambassador to Croatia Mark Fleming,

US Secretary of State Antony Blinken,

US Secretary of Homeland Security Alejandro Mayorkas,

US State Department's Spokesperson Ned Price,

and US State Department's Deputy Spokesperson Jalina Porter.

Now, Bulgaria, Cyprus, and Romania remain the only European Union member states not in the US' Visa Waiver Programme.

Latest news