The Hug and Pint

Music, Music venues Firhill
0 Love It
Save it
The Hug and Pint

Situated in the old premises of the Roxy 171/Liquid Ship, and still only soft-launched at time of writing (official opening will be later in June), The Hug and Pint is in many ways what the West End and Glasgow at large has been crying out for for some years, ever since the nearby Captains Rest (RIP) shut down in 2012. That is, a shoebox-sized independent music venue and attendant hangout bar. Titled after an Arab Strap album, and founded by a reliable local team in Synergy Concerts’ Bryan Reynolds and Joe Rattray and Colin Campbell of The Squid and Whale, it can’t fail to be a winner. Gigs will take place in the roughly 100-capacity newly-refitted basement venue. Upstairs it’s a cooly and colorfully attired bar serving quality beers, and eventually a basic food menu (the kitchen isn’t fitted out yet, but expect pop-up offerings in the interim).

Posted:

Venue name: The Hug and Pint
Contact:
Address: 171 Great Western Road
West End
Glasgow
G4 9AW
Opening hours: Mon-Thu 6pm-midnight, Fri-Sun noon-midnight
Do you own this business?

Pick a date

to
  • Classical and opera Wednesday May 3 2017
  • Acoustic Thursday May 4 2017
  • Monday May 8 2017
  • Rock and indie Thursday May 11 2017
  • Rock and indie Saturday May 20 2017
  • Punk and metal Monday May 22 2017
  • Pop Tuesday May 23 2017
  • Dance and electronic Thursday May 25 2017
  • Tuesday May 30 2017
  • Classical and opera Wednesday June 14 2017
  • Show more
LiveReviews|0
1 person listening