Save The Greensward From City Hall!

Things to do
0 Love It
Save it
Save The Greensward From City Hall!
More Less
Get Off Our Lawn says
In a surprising move, the Memphis City Council has placed "Overton Park discussion" on their executive committee agenda for 1:45pm THIS TUESDAY, March 1, in the 5th-floor conference room at City Hall, 125 N. Main.

We're told by reliable sources that this discussion is likely to include the idea of handing over the historic Greensward to the Memphis Zoo and amending or canceling the Overton Park Conservancy's management contract.

If you can attend the 1:45pm committee meeting, please wear your "Save the Greensward" protest tee or any bright green clothing. If the committee takes any action, it would then go to a full City Council vote at the 3:30pm meeting.

Our understanding is that amending or canceling the OPC's contract would also require the agreement of Mayor Jim Strickland, as he is the contracting authority for the City.

Please take a minute to email your Council members and Mayor Strickland. Tell them it's not okay for the City Council to circumvent the ongoing public planning process and the ongoing mediation between the OPC and Zoo.

Our community is working together to find parking solutions that won't harm Overton Park or the Memphis Zoo, and we are finally making real progress. Why destroy that now?

Bill.Morrison@memphistn.gov
Frank.Colvettjr@memphistn.gov
Patrice.Robinson@memphistn.gov
Jamita.Swearengen@memphistn.gov
Worth.Morgan@memphistn.gov
Edmund.Fordjr@memphistn.gov
Berlin.Boyd@memphistn.gov
Joe.Brown@memphistn.gov
Janis.Fullilove@memphistn.gov
Martavius.Jones@memphistn.gov
Kemp.Conrad@memphistn.gov
Philip.Spinosajr@memphistn.gov
Reid.Hedgepeth@memphistn.gov
Mayor@memphistn.gov
More Less

By: Get Off Our Lawn

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/1060956420621657
To improve this listing email: feedback@timeout.com