Four Seasons: Spring

Things to do
Four Seasons: Spring
More Less
Four Seasons: Spring says
The premiere of the Rite of Spring is one of the most scandalous and raucous premieres in classical music history. Besides Igor Stravinsky’s testing of musical innovations, there were fantastic costumes, bizarre choreography and, of course, the story of a pagan sacrifice. Though Stravinsky wrote this work for full orchestra, and many auxiliary instruments, in 2010 Jonathan Russell transcribed large portions of the work for woodwind quintet.

Paired with the Quintet by Jean Francaix, we complete the cycle of the seasons. Samuel Barber, who composed "Summer Music" that started our season, wrote that Francaix's quintet was a great inspiration for his only composition for woodwind quintet.

Divertimento a Tre for Violin, Cello and Horn - Joseph Haydn
Rite of Spring - Igor Stravinsky
Quintet - Jean Francaix

Monica Anthony, Flute
Tiffany Pan, Oboe
Erin Finkelstein, Clarinet
Tom Breadon, Bassoon
Rose French, Horn
Sarah Schreffler, Violin
Nathan James, Cello

In addition to our performance on March 6 at Central United Methodist Church, we will also be performing:

March 2, 9:30 AM - United Church of Sun City
March 5, 7 PM - Cicero Preparatory Academy
March 9, 7:30 PM - Peoria Center for the Performing Arts
Complete information about these concerts can be found on our website:
More Less

By: Mill Ave Chamber Players