Season of Lent

The 40-day Season of Lent starts on Ash Wednesday.

Hiniduma Church
©BT Images
By Time Out editors |

The Season of Lent is a period of penance for Christians with prayer, fasting and meditation. The Way of the Cross is observed at all churches. In Sri Lanka, Catholics also make the Lenten pilgrimage to Calvary Shrine in Hiniduma.

More to explore