Art Bergmann Performs 'The Apostate'

Things to do
Art Bergmann Performs 'The Apostate'
More Less
Art Bergmann Performs 'The Apostate' says
ART BERGMANN performs 'THE APOSTATE' - Official Album Release Show at The Legendary Horseshoe Tavern in Toronto ON!!

With very special guests Ron Hawkins and the Do Good Assassins (10pm), and Luxury Bob (9pm)

Tix $15 advance at Rotate This & Soundscapes / $20 at the door

** Art's Toronto band includes Joel Anderson (drums), John Dinsmore (bass), Chris Wardman (guitar) and Gene Hughes (guitar / mandolin).


Art Bergmann's career began with his first band, The Schmorgs in 1977. He joined the K-Tels the following year, releasing two EPs before changing their name to The Young Canadians. In 1981, Bergmann joined Los Popularos and the band recorded a four-song EP. In 1984, he formed Poisoned and they recorded two demo tapes and a 6-song EP with producers Bob Rock and Paul Hyde.

In 1988, Bergmann signed with Duke Street Records and released his first album under his own name, Crawl With Me, produced by John Cale. 1989's Sexual Roulette and 1991's Art Bergmann soon followed and in 1995, What Fresh Hell Is This? earned him a Juno Award. Bergmann released two more albums, 1998's Design Flaw and 2000's Vultura Freeway before relocating to a farm in Alberta and retiring from the music racket - temporarily.

After a period of self-imposed exile, Bergmann began writing again and returned to the stage in 2013, performing sold-out shows in Calgary, Victoria, Vancouver and Toronto. Then in 2014, Bergmann released a critically acclaimed 4-song EP, Songs For The Underclass, on Weewerk Recordings.


Art Bergmann recorded his new album, The Apostate, in September 2015 with producer Lorrie Matheson at Arch Audio in Calgary. The album features eight new songs and a stellar cast of musicians from Calgary, Vancouver and Toronto:

Art Bergmann - Electric and acoustic guitars, vocals
Paul Rigby - Steel and acoustic guitars, electric guitars, mandolin, baritone guitar and ebow
Lorrie Matheson - Acoustic and electric guitars, mellotron, organ, pianorgan and chopsticks
Jason Sniderman - Piano, wurlitzer and mellotron
Ian Grant - Drums and percussion
Peter Clarke - Bass
Foon Yap - Violin
Mike Little - Accordion
Natasha Sayer, Emily Triggs, and Nikki Valentine - Vocals

Digital release on April 8 and CD & LP formats on May 13, 2016:

Apple Music:

More Less

By: Art Bergmann

1 person listening