Get us in your inbox

moon
Photograph: Shutterstock

A dazzling Frosty Moon Eclipse will illuminate the night sky this month

Watch the Earth's shadow drift over the moon on November 30.

By
Morgan Olsen
Advertising

As cities around the world set up sparkling holiday light displays, the universe has its own show planned: In the early morning hours of Monday, November 30, you'll be able to catch a rare Frosty Moon Eclipse. The natural phenomenon is a mix between November's full moon and a penumbral lunar eclipse.

You may be familiar with a total or partial eclipse; a penumbral eclipse is more subdued but still fascinating to observe. According to Inverse, this happens when the moon drifts through the Earth's penumbra, and "because of the geometry of the Sun-Earth-Moon alignment during these moments, some of the sun's light makes it through the penumbra and to the moon."

During the Frosty Moon Eclipse, the full moon will actually appear a bit dull and faded. Interestingly enough, it's a great time to snap a photo of the far-flung orb and really make out its dappled surface. If you want to catch the Frosty Moon Eclipse, you'll need to set an alarm for 4:30am EST (3:30am CT, 1:30am PST)—that's when the sky show will reach its peak.

The next time North America will be able to catch a penumbral lunar eclipse will be March 25, 2024, so don't throw away this opportunity to go moon gazing this month.

Most popular on Time Out

The CDC is asking everyone to hold off on the spiked eggnog this holiday season
5 tips for traveling safely this holiday season
Charcuterie chalets are the perfect symbol of 2020’s upside-down holiday season
- Not into winter? These awesome Airbnbs in warm places are calling your name
- This map highlights the most popular Thanksgiving sides in each state

Latest news

    Advertising