Beyond The Zero #1

Things to do
0 Love It
Save it
Beyond The Zero #1
More Less
Orpheus Brewing says
It's finally time to kick off Don't Look Back: Beyond the Zero. We're presenting contemporary music from Chamber Cartel with an Orpheus Brewing beer tasting and tour!

Dmaathen by Iannis Xenakis
Lexicon by Marcos Balter
Okanagon by Giacinto Scelsi
Ciel Etoile by Kaija Saariaho
The Avoidance of a Word by Scott Steele
Everything is Sexual by Aaron Jay Myers
Melancholia by Anthony Donofrio (world premiere)

Tickets at

We create stories for ourselves. We create to get outside ourselves. To give us position in the world. We make up words that have specific meanings to only us. We are, whether we like it or not, are conjurers; we make up reality. The composers featured on this concert have conjured up other worlds of sound to be experienced, to take us to that other place.

Giacinto Scelsi's titles for his works often had no discernible meaning. Okanagon has no immediate meaning. The sound of the word conjures up conjecture and creates a thick fog of mystery surrounding it. There is ritual in this music. Iannis Xenakis Dmaathen for oboe and percussion creates a whole new world for the oboe. Using primarily multi-phonics, Xenakis shifts the oboe into a new light - a different dimension. To which, the percussionist gamely follows. Kaija Saariaho’s music often takes cues from the natural world. Ciel étoile means starry sky and to be sure, this piece lives among the stars. This is not an observer looking at different constellations. What the music presents us is a totally different world from “up there.” We hear beams of light that pass us by, and see nebulae form in front of our eyes. We feel the aurora by being in it. These pieces along the other on the program, once again, present the beyond, either coming from within us, or outside of us.
More Less

By: Orpheus Brewing

To improve this listing email: