The Bitteroots W/ Brit La Palm & The Barrel Fever At Eddie's Attic (Decatur, Ga)

Things to do
0 Love It
Save it
The Bitteroots W/ Brit La Palm & The Barrel Fever At Eddie's Attic (Decatur, Ga)
More Less
The Bitteroots says
The Bitteroots

The Bitteroots are an Atlanta/Decatur-based original jam-rock band founded in 2008. Fronted by female vocalist Laura Dees, the band has a sound that’s been called a “unique brand of soulful rock.” The Bitteroots’ groove-oriented approach to rock n roll has drawn comparisons to the Tedeschi-Trucks Band, Melissa Etheridge and Janis Joplin.
From pop melodies to extended jams, The Bitteroots’ sets run the gamut with something for everybody.

Along with Dees, an accomplished songwriter and powerful singer who joined the band in 2010, The Bitteroots also include founding members Bill Taylor on bass and Mike Davis on drums. Guitarist Kyle Bryant joined The Bitteroots in 2013 and saxophonist Derron Nuhfer became an official member in September 2014.

The Bitteroots have released four compilations of original music, the latest being the single “Under the Big Sky,” recorded in the fall of 2013 at The Music Farm studio by Mark van Allen (Govt. Mule, Indigo Girls, Blueground Undergrass, Zac Brown Band, Whiskey Gentry). The melodic title track is accompanied by two bonus tracks, the hard-rocking “Defenseless” and a re-tooled version of “Try Me Again” which first appeared on the band’s debut release, “French Fries,” in 2011.

Other releases include 2012’s full-length “Central of Georgia” and 2013’s “After The Rain.”

The Bitteroots have shared the stage with: The Freddy Jones Band, Allgood, Col. Bruce Hampton, Arrested Development, 7 Walkers (Bill Kreutzmann of The Grateful Dead), George Clinton & Parliament Funkadelic, Anders Osborne, Coy Bowles (Zac Brown Band), Dead Confederate, Cigar Store Indians, Adron, Michelle Malone, The Shadowboxers, Ruby Velle & The Soulphonics, Eliott Bronson, Sydney Rhame, Tedo Stone, Saint Francis, honey honey, and many other great bands and artists.

Brit La Palm & The Barrel Fever

Brit La Palm & the Barrel Fever are an Atlanta based band that is often hard to put in a single genre. Between songs like "San Antone" that offer an old school alternative country vibe to “City Love" that sounds like a track off a rock album, Brit La Palm & the Barrel are constantly blurring the lines between the folk, southern rock and blues genres. Coming from a classically trained music background, Brit La Palm tries to find the balance between what made classical music memorable and how to transform new music into something the greats would be proud of. The Barrel consist of Michael Beavers on percussion, Justin Dale on lead guitar, Joshua Crowe on keys and Joey Wilson and Tyler Ayers on bass. Brit La Palm & the Barrel Fever’s music is so contagious it leaves people wonder if the name or the fan base came first. Their EP, which was released in October of 2015, is a the winner of the Akademia Music award for best Rock EP.
More Less

By: The Bitteroots

To improve this listing email: