Croatian film 'The Constitution' wins Grand Prize at Montreal

Written by
Beth Ryan

Croatian film 'The Constitution' has picked up the Grand Prize of the Americas at the 40th Montreal World Film Festival, with its producers scooping up $100,000 in prize money. 

The film follows four people who live in the same building but who lead very different lives, which soon become inextricably enmeshed. Directed by Rajko Grlic and produced by Interfilm and Croatian Radio Television (HRT),  it stars Nebojša Glogovac, Ksenija Marinković and Dejan Aćimović. A serious, substantial drama, it tackles head-on political, social and ethical issues that remain unresolved in the former Yugoslav countries. 

This year marked the 40th anniversary of the Montreal Festival, which closed with the awards ceremony on September 5. A cornerstone of American film awards, the festival celebrates international cinema, with films from around the globe premiering at the event.  

'The Constitution' is released in cinemas across Croatia on October 6.

Here is the full list of winning films from Montreal World Film Festival 2016:

World Competition

Grand Prize of the Americas (Best Film)
The Constitution [+] - Rajko Grlic (Croatia/Czech Republic/Slovenia/Macedonia)

Special Grand Prix of the Jury
House Without Roof - Soleen Yusef (Germany/Kurdistan)

Best Director
Nic Balthazar - Everybody Happy [+] (Belgium/Netherlands)

Best Actress
Hannah Hoekstra – The Fury [+] (Netherlands)

Best Actor
Willem Dafoe – My Hindi Friend (Brazil)

Best Screenplay
Swaying Waterlily - Seren Yüce (Turkey)

Best Artistic Contribution
Tatara Samurai - Yoshinari Nishikori (Japan)

Innovation Award
Embrasse-moi comme tu m’aimes - André Forcier (Canada)

World First Films Competition

Golden Zenith for the Best First Fiction Feature Film
A Father’s Will - Bakyt Mukul, Dastan Zhapar Uulu (Kyrgyzstan)

Silver Zenith for the First Fiction Feature Film
Echo - Dren Zherka (Germany/Kosovo)

Bronze Zenith for the First Fiction Feature Film (ex-aequo)
If You Were Here - Yu Lan (China)
Two Euros per Hour [+] - Andrea D’Ambrosio (Italy)

World Competition Documentaries

Best Documentary Award (ex-aequo)
Ken San - Yuichi Hibi (Japan)
Albert and Alma in 16 Strings - Philippe Frenette-Roy (Canada)

Short Films

1st prize
The Session - Morgane Becerril (USA/France/Italy)

Jury Award
Silence - Dejan Mrkic (Australia)

Latest news