Croatian border
Ivica Galovic/PIXSELLCroatian border

Croatia joins Schengen!

Croatia has been accepted into the passport-free EU zone from January 1, 2023, with air borders open from March 26

Written by
Peterjon Cresswell

Croatia has been accepted into the EU’s passport-free Schengen zone, to take effect from January 1, 2023.

The momentous decision unanimously agreed by all 26 other EU members should be a huge boost for Croatian tourism.

Those arriving by land and sea will no longer have to queue at the border to enter the country. Visitors coming in by air will have to wait until March 26, when the IATA seasonal schedules change.

The lifting of border controls on January 1 coincides with Croatia introducing the euro as its official currency, replacing the kuna.

Both initiatives have come into force under the six-month Czech presidency of the European Council. Sweden then takes assumes the role from January 1, 2023. While Croatia has now been accepted into the Schengen zone, Romania and Bulgaria still await integration.

As Czech Minister of Interior, Vít Rakušan, explained: “I am very pleased that during the Czech Presidency, Croatia was able to take two important steps in its European integration by joining both the euro and the Schengen areas. I am confident that these successes will pave the way for other member states who fulfil the conditions to take the next step in their European journeys, and my colleagues and I will continue to work hard to ensure that we can welcome Bulgaria and Romania into the Schengen family in the near future”.

You may also like
You may also like