Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment

Music, Classical and opera
0 Love It
Save it

The Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment under Roy Goodman, with pianist Artur Pizarro. Mozart's daring Symphony 40 – one of his most popular but also most enigmatic and dark pieces; Schubert's Fourth Symphony in C minor ('Tragic') – the opening movement of which recalls the Mozart; and Beethoven's serene Piano Concerto No 4 provides a contrast. (Note: in QEH at 5.45pm, OAE Extras: 'Pioneer of Authenticity'. A tribute to Sir Charles Mackerras, who was to have conducted this evening's concert, with members of the Orchestra and special guests; free.)


Event phone: 0844 847 9910
Event website: http://www.southbankcentre.co.uk
To improve this listing email: feedback@timeout.com