Stock image of an airport
Photo: Ken Yam/UnsplashStock image of an airport

Japan extends entry ban to 73 nations

Kasey Furutani
Written by
Kasey Furutani

Japan will ban entry from 73 nations and regions starting Friday April 3. The decision was made to help contain the Covid-19 coronavirus and prevent it from spreading. The Asahi Shimbun reports that travellers from North America, most of Europe and Asia, along with parts of Africa and the Middle East, are subject to the ban. 

With the latest ruling announced on March 31, a total of 49 countries and regions have been added to the travel ban. This is in addition to the 24 places already under the no-entry list, which includes Iran and several other European nations (Italy, Spain, Denmark, Portugal, France, Germany, etc), along with certain parts of China and South Korea. 

Here are the countries and regions recently added to the list: 

Asia Pacific: Australia, Brunei, China, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, Vietnam.

North America: Canada, United States of America. 

Central and South America: Brazil, Bolivia, Chile, Dominica, Ecuador, Panama.

Europe: Albania, Armenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Britain, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia. 

Middle East and Africa: Bahrain, Cote d’Ivoire (Ivory Coast), Democratic Republic of the Congo, Egypt, Israel, Mauritius, Morocco, Turkey. 

As of April 3, anyone travelling on a passport from those places, or who has visited the affected countries in the past 14 days, will be denied entry into Japan. 

Follow live updates on the Covid-19 coronavirus situation in Tokyo and Japan here. 

You may also like
You may also like