DJ Spooky + Kelan Phil

Music, Rap, hip-hop and R&B
DJ Spooky
Photograph: Courtesy the Metropolitan Museum of Art DJ Spooky

Experimental turntablist DJ Spooky presents his Rebirth of a Nation multimedia performance piece—a reimagined electronic and orchestral score for D.W. Griffith’s controversial 1915 silent film The Birth of a Nation, created in collaboration with the Kronos Quartet. Chicago improvised jazz legend and former Sun Ra Arkestra collaborator Kelan Phil Cohran begin the evening with a performance by his Summer Solstice Ensemble. This free concert is part of the 2016 Millennium Park Summer Music Series.

By: Zach Long


1 person listening