7 Love It
Save it

Movies in the Parks

Enjoy the summer sun and blockbuster films all at once when you skip the pricey theaters for a night in Chicago parks

Movies in the Parks

Pack a blanket and hit the corner store for a box of Raisinets—the Chicago Park District's annual lineup for Movies in the Parks is packed with goodies this summer. This year, the schedule includes 217 screenings in parks across the city, from Rogers Park to Hegewisch. The lineup includes the requisite kid-friendly hits (animated features Sing, The Secret Life of Pets and Moana dominate the schedule), undisputed classics (Field of Dreams, Raiders of the Lost Ark) and recent blockbusters (Rogue One: A Star Wars Story, Captain America: Civil War, La La Land).

RECOMMENDED: Guide to outdoor movies in Chicago

 

June

Young Frankenstein (Friday, June 2, Berger Park)

BarberShop—The Next Cut (Friday, June 9, Sherwood Park)

North by Northwest (Monday, June 12, Belmont Harbor)

Jumanji (Tuesday, June 13, Grant Park by Logan Monument)

Sing (Tuesday, June 13, Kedvale Park)

La La Land (Wednesday, June 14, Mary Bartelme Park)

The Secret Life of Pets(Wednesday, June 14, Foster Park)

A Cat in Paris (Wednesday, June 14, Winnemac Park)

The Secret Life of Pets (Thursday, June 15, Churchill Field Playlot Park)

Moonstruck (Thursday, June 15, Wicker Park)

Ghostbusters (2016) (Friday, June 16, Anderson Playground Park)

The Secret Life of Pets(Friday, June 16, Cornell Square Park)

Jumanji (Friday, June 16, Mayfair Park)

The Magnificent Seven (2016) (Friday, June 16, West Chatham Park)

Queen of Katwe (Saturday, June 17, Washington Park behind DuSable Museum)

Trolls (Saturday, June 17, Hermitage Park)

Ghostbusters (2016) (Saturday, June 17, Winnemac Park)

Dirty Dancing (Monday, June 19, Grant Park, Balbo and Columbus)

Hidden Figures (Monday, June 19, Tuley Park)

National Treasure (Tuesday, June 20, Haas Park)

Angels in the Outfield(Tuesday, June 20, Archer Park)

Hotel Transylvania 2 (Tuesday, June 20, Kells Playground Park)

Ferris Bueller’s Day Off (Tuesday, June 20, Montgomery Ward Park)

Sing (Wednesday, June 21, Mary Bartelme Park)

The Umbrellas of Cherbourg (Wednesday, June 21, Kathy Osterman Beach)

The Wiz (Thursday, June 22 at 7pm, John Clark Park)

The Sandlot (Thursday, June 22, Brooks Park)

Fences (Thursday, June 22, Lowe Playground Park)

Angels in the Outfield (Thursday, June 22, Oz Park)

The LEGO Batman Movie (Thursday, June 22, West Lawn Park)

Queen of Katwe (Friday, June 23 at 7pm, Homan Square Park)

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (Friday, June 23 , Athletic Field Park)

Queen of Katwe (Friday, June 23, Columbus Park)

Sing (Friday, June 23, Independence Park)

Drop Dead Fred (Friday, June 23, Minuteman Park)

The Unsinkable Molly Brown (Friday, June 23, Kathy Osterman Beach)

The Secret Life of Pets (Saturday, June 24, Humboldt Park)

The Secret Life of Pets (Saturday, June 24, Murray Playground Park)

Space Jam (Saturday, June 24, Rowan Park)

La La Land (Sunday, June 25, Jonquil Park)

The LEGO Movie(Tuesday, June 27, Mary Bartelme Park)

Field of Dreams (Tuesday, June 27, Chicago History Museum)

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (Tuesday, June 27, Daniel Webster Park)

Como en el Cine (Wednesday, June 28, Harrison Park)

Big (Wednesday, June 28, Lincoln Park, across Stockton Dr east of Cultural Center)

Sing (Wednesday, June 28, Olympia Park)

Top Gun (Thursday, June 29, Chase Park)

Sing (Thursday, June 29, Owens Park)

Trolls (Thursday, June 29, Sumner Park)

Raising Arizona (Thursday, June 29, Wicker Park)

Sing (Friday, June 30, La Villita Park)

Hook (Friday, June 30, Oz Park)

Kung Fu Panda 3 (Friday, June 30, Wentworth Park)

 

July

Pete’s Dragon (2016) (Saturday, July 1 , Seward Park)

Sing (Saturday, July 1, Senn Playlot Park)

The Secret Life of Pets (Sunday, July 2, Independence Park)

Captain America: Civil War (Wednesday, July 5, Brainerd Park)

Ghostbusters (2016) (Wednesday, July 5, Vittum Park)

Ghostbusters (2016) (Thursday, July 6, Bogan Park)

Captain America: Civil War(Thursday, July 6, Rosenblum Park)

National Treasure (Thursday, July 6, Wicker Park)

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (Friday, July 7 , Moore Park)

X-Men: Apocalypse (Friday, July 7 at Meyering Playground Park)

Sing (Friday, July 7, Rutherford Sayre Park)

The Secret Life of Pets (Saturday, July 8, Ken-Well Park)

Queen of Katwe (Saturday, July 8, Loyola Park)

Jaws (Saturday, July 8, Oz Park)

The Jungle Book (2016) (Monday, July 10, Mary Bartelme Park)

Queen of Katwe (Monday, July 10, Holstein Park)

Apollo 13 (Monday, July 10, Oakwood Beach)

The Peanuts Movie (Tuesday, July 11, Beverly Park)

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (Tuesday, July 11, Montgomery Ward Park)

Vote for Pepo (Wednesday, July 12, Kilbourn Park)

The LEGO Movie (Wednesday, July 12, Lincoln Park, across Stockton Dr east of Cultural Center)

The Secret Life of Pets (Wednesday, July 12, Sheridan Park)

Finding Dory (Thursday, July 13 , Gill Park)

The Sandlot (Thursday, July 13, Donovan Playground Park)

The Secret Life of Pets (Thursday, July 13, Ogden Park)

Sing (Friday, July 14 at 7pm, Franklin Park)

Sing (Friday, July 14, Douglas Park)

The Secret Life of Pets (Friday, July 14, Kenwood Community Park)

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (Friday, July 14, Margate Park Fieldhouse)

Race (Friday, July 14, Rainbow Beach Park)

Madea’s Tough Love (Saturday, July 15 , Washington Park behind DuSable Museum)

Toy Story (Saturday, July 15 , Horner Park)

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (Sunday, July 16 , Piotrowski Park)

The Princess Bride (Monday, July 17 , Calumet Park east of fieldhouse)

Trolls (Monday, July 17 , River Park)

Raiders of the Lost Ark (Monday, July 17, Webster Park)

The Angry Birds Movie (Tuesday, July 18, Dunbar Park)

La La Land (Tuesday, July 18, Montgomery Ward Park)

Zootopia (Tuesday, July 18, Park No. 571)

Finding Dory (Wednesday, July 19, Blackhawk Park)

Vengo Volviendo (Wednesday, July 19, Dvorak Park)

The Secret Life of Pets (Wednesday, July 19, La Follette Park)

The Secret Life of Pets (Thursday, July 20, Senka Park)

Zootopia (Thursday, July 20, Simons Park)

The Wicker Man (Thursday, July 20, Wicker Park)

Monster Trucks (Thursday, July 20, Bessemer Park)

Trolls (Friday, July 21, Kelly Park)

The Sandlot (Friday, July 21, Kilbourn Park)

Zootopia (Friday, July 21, Ronan Park)

The LEGO Batman Movie (Friday, July 21, Independence Park)

Guardians of the Galaxy (Saturday, July 22, Bosley Playground Park)

The Magnificent Seven (2016) (Saturday, July 22, Dawes Park)

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (Saturday, July 22, Gross Park)

Sing (Saturday, July 22, Bradley Park)

Kung Fu Panda 3 (Sunday, July 23, Emmerson Park)

Arrival (Sunday, July 23, Jonquil Park)

Sing (Monday, July 24, Calumet Park east of Fieldhouse)

Steel Magnolias (Monday, July 24, Kathy Osterman Beach)

Airplane! (Tuesday, July 25, Chicago History Museum)

The LEGO Movie (Tuesday, July 25, Haas Park)

Big Hero 6(Tuesday, July 25, Maggie Daley Park)

The Secret Life of Pets (Tuesday, July 25, Mann Park)

Ice Age (Wednesday, July 26, Gage Park)

Las Fabulosos Ma Mejores (Wednesday, July 26, Gage Park)

Finding Dory (Wednesday, July 26, Jesse White Park and Community Center)

Captain America: Civil War (Thursday, July 27, Chase Park)

Tyler Perry’s Boo: A Madea Halloween (Thursday, July 27, Austin Town Hall Park)

Moana (Thursday, July 27, Normandy Playground Park)

The Magnificent Seven (2016) (Thursday, July 27, Edward H. White Park)

Tyler Perry’s Boo: A Madea Halloween (Friday, July 28, Oakdale Park)

Moana (Friday, July 28, Schreiber Park)

The LEGO Batman Movie (Friday, July 28, Veteran's Memorial Park)

Ferris Bueller's Day Off (Friday, July 28, Athletic Field Park)

Sing (Friday, July 28, Avalon Park)

A Monster in Paris (Saturday, July 29, Harrison Park)

The LEGO Batman Movie (Saturday, July 29, Kennicott Park)

Instructions Not Included (Saturday, July 29, Wolfe Park)

 

August

The Book of Life(Tuesday, Aug 1, Blackhawk Park)

Southside With You (Tuesday, Aug 1, Grand Crossing Park)

Beach Blanket Bingo (Tuesday, Aug 1, Indian Boundary Park)

Sing (Tuesday, Aug 1, West Lawn Park)

Independence Day: Resurgence (Wednesday, Aug 2, Hamilton Park)

Patas Arriba (Wednesday, Aug 2, Loyola Park)

X-Men: Apocalypse (Wednesday, Aug 2, Union Park

Ice Age: Collision Course (Thursday, Aug 3, Nat King Cole Park)

The Jungle Book (2016) (Thursday, Aug 3, Marquette Park)

Jason Bourne (Thursday, Aug 3, West Pullman Park)

Sing (Friday, Aug 4 at 7pm, Vittum Park)

Moana (Friday, Aug 4 at Green Briar Park)

The Secret Life of Pets (Friday, Aug 4, Wildwood Park)

Jason Bourne (Friday, Aug 4, Woodhull Park)

Fences (Friday, Aug 4, Lindblom Park)

Moana (Saturday, Aug 5, Sauganash Park)

Finding Dory (Saturday, Aug 5, Senn Playlot Park)

August Rush (Saturday, Aug 5, Winnemac Park)

Hidden Figures (Sunday, Aug 6 at 7pm, Douglas Park)

Finding Dory (Monday, Aug 7, Chippewa Park)

Home Alone (Monday, Aug 7, Oakwood Beach)

The Wiz (Monday, Aug 7, South Shore Cultural Center)

Power Rangers(Tuesday, Aug 8, Davis Square Park)

The LEGO Batman Movie (Tuesday, Aug 8, Cragin Park)

Sully (Tuesday, Aug 8, Montgomery Ward Park)

Moana (Tuesday, Aug 8, Roosevelt Park)

Tyler Perry’s Boo: A Madea Halloween (Wednesday, Aug 9, Augusta Park)

Hidden Figures (Wednesday, Aug 9, Burnside Park)

Las Fabulosos Ma Mejores (Wednesday, Aug 9, Piotrowski Park)

The Secret Life of Pets (Thursday, Aug 10, Commercial Club Playground)

I Am Not Your Negro (Thursday, Aug 10, Washington Park behind DuSable Museum)

Finding Dory (Thursday, Aug 10, Shedd Park)

Sing (Thursday, Aug 10, Pasteur Park)

Hotel Transylvania (Friday, Aug 11, Kelly Park)

Finding Dory (Friday, Aug 11, Maplewood Park)

Sing (Friday, Aug 11, Hadiya Pendleton Park)

Central Intelligence (Friday, Aug 11, Smith Playlot Park)

The Sandlot (Saturday, Aug 12, Stout Park)

Trolls (Saturday, Aug 12, Willye B. White Park)

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (Sunday, Aug 13, Jonquil Park)

Lean on Me (Monday, Aug 14, Calumet Park east of fieldhouse)

Sing (Monday, Aug 14, South Shore Cultural Center)

Almost Christmas (Monday, Aug 14, Tilton Park)

Hop (Tuesday, Aug 15, Rosedale Park)

Big Hero 6 (Tuesday, Aug 15, Hamlin Park)

The BFG (Wednesday, Aug 16, Mary Bartelme Park)

Space Jam (Wednesday, Aug 16, Brands Park)

Zootopia (Wednesday, Aug 16, Cotton Tail Park)

The LEGO Batman Movie (Thursday, Aug 17 at 7pm, Washtenaw Park)

The LEGO Batman Movie (Thursday, Aug 17, Edgebrook Park)

Rudy (Thursday, Aug 17, Eugene Field Park)

Frozen (Thursday, Aug 17, Hoyne Park)

La La Land (Friday, Aug 18, Independence Park)

Moana (Friday, Aug 18, Abbott Park)

Moana (Friday, Aug 18, LeClaire Courts/Hearst Community)

The LEGO Batman Movie(Friday, Aug 18, Wrightwood Park)

Southside With You (Saturday, Aug 19, Washington Park behind DuSable Museum)

Sing (Saturday, Aug 19, Unity Playlot Park)

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Saturday, Aug 19, Walsh Playground Park)

Moana (Sunday, Aug 20, Jonquil Park)

Top Hat (Monday, Aug 21, Belmont Harbor)

Queen of Katwe(Monday, Aug 21, Clarendon Park Community Center)

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (Monday, Aug 21, South Shore Cultural Center)

City Slickers(Tuesday, Aug 22, Chicago History Museum)

Sing (Tuesday, Aug 22, Haas Park)

Trolls (Tuesday, Aug 22, Lawler Park)

The Secret Life of Pets(Tuesday, Aug 22, Montgomery Ward Park)

WALL-E (Wednesday, Aug 23, Cotton Tail Park)

The Secret Life of Pets (Wednesday, Aug 23, Graver Park)

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (Wednesday, Aug 23, McGuane Park)

Field of Dreams (Thursday, Aug 24, Norwood Park)

Ghostbusters (2016) (Thursday, Aug 24, Park No. 574)

Gone in 60 Seconds (Thursday, Aug 24, Wicker Park)

Sing (Friday, Aug 25 at 7pm, John Clark Park)

Trolls (Friday, Aug 25, Jensen Park)

WALL-E (Friday, Aug 25, Jonquil Park)

Ghostbusters (2016) (Friday, Aug 25, Palmer Park)

The Little Mermaid (Friday, Aug 25, Athletic Field Park)

The Wizard of Oz (Saturday, Aug 26, Oz Park)

X-Men: Apocalypse (Saturday, Aug 26, Pulaski Park)

The Sandlot (Sunday, Aug 27, Eckhart Park)

The Manchurian Candidate (Monday, Aug 28, Grant Park, Balbo and Columbus)

April and the Extraordinary World (Monday, Aug 28, Montgomery Park)

Queen of Katwe (Monday, Aug 28, South Shore Cultural Center)

Tyler Perry’s Boo: A Madea Halloween (Tuesday, Aug 29 at 7pm, Shedd Park)

National Treasure (Thursday, Aug 31 at 7:25pm, Chase Park)

 

September

Top Gun (Monday, Sept 4, Kathy Osterman Beach)

Moana (Thursday, Sept 7, Hamlin Park)

Comments

0 comments