Here are all the countries reopening today – and who can actually visit

The Maldives and Puerto Rico have fully reopened, while UK visitors are finally allowed into Greece and Malta

Huw Oliver
Written by
Huw Oliver
UK Editor
Photograph: Shutterstock

Still pondering that last-minute holiday in the sun? Today sees many more countries around the world reopen their borders to housebound globe-trotters. From the Caribbean to the Indian Ocean, several major destinations have started welcoming all international visitors, while many others are significantly expanding their lists of ‘safe’ nations tourists can depart from. Here are all the reopenings you need to know about today.

The Maldives is now allowing in all international travellers – with no quarantine requirements. Tourists must, however, stay on designated ‘resort islands’ and book their entire stay at one establishment. There are exemptions only for transit to and from your accommodation.

Norway has today reopened its borders to most citizens and residents of EU and Schengen-travel-zone countries, including the UK. Excluded ‘high-risk’ nations are Portugal, Hungary, Croatia, Romania, Bulgaria and Luxembourg.

Puerto Rico has also started welcoming all international visitors. Visitors must fill out a travel declaration form before departure, and bring a negative test result from within three days of arrival. Anyone who doesn’t will be able to take a Covid-19 test at the airport (but will also have to quarantine at their own expense while awaiting the results).

French Polynesia is reopening to all travellers from today. To visit islands including Tahiti and Bora Bora, you will have to fill out this form and bring a negative test result from within three days of arrival. You will also have to present yourself for self-testing on Tahiti four days into your stay.

Malta has added the UK, Belgium, Bulgaria, the Netherlands, Slovenia, Portugal and Romania to its list of ‘safe’ countries tourists can travel from. There are no quarantine requirements on arrival. Its borders were already open to travellers from most EU and Schengen-area countries, along with around 15 other nations including Australia, Canada and Japan.

From today, Greece, is also now allowing in British and Swedish travellers with no mandatory self-isolation period. It was already open to most countries within the EU and Schengen area.

And here are the rest of the countries reopening their borders in July. Travel safe!

Remember, many countries are still warning against all non-essential travel and some are quarantining all overseas arrivals, including their own returning citizens. Check all the relevant restrictions before you think about travelling.

You may also like
You may also like