Worldwide icon-chevron-right The 9 spookiest virtual Halloween events you can stream live this week
Annoyance Theatre: Splatter Theater
Photograph: Courtesy of the artist Annoyance Theatre: Splatter Theater

The 9 spookiest virtual Halloween events you can stream live this week

Get your freak on this October 31 with our round-up of the best virtual events and activities for celebrating Halloween at home

By Huw Oliver
Advertising

After the horror show of 2020, it’d be tempting to think nothing could terrify us humans as much as normal, everyday life any more. But then, you know: vampires, zombies, witches. Motherfriggin’ Dracula. There’s a heck of a lot of bone-chilling shit out there, and Halloween is here to remind us all about it. Great.

This year, trick-or-treating is a very much a no-go. Most street processions and demonstrations have been called off. Halloween-themed club nights – obviously not. All of which makes for an unusually quiet October 31, and means we’re going to have to find new and frightening ways to entertain ourselves as the big day nears.

Fortunately, our old pal and lockdown saviour the live-stream is here to help once more. From drag bingo to Shakespeare via some seriously gory slasher spoofs, we’ve rounded up the best virtual Halloween events and activities you can stream live this week. Just remember to dress up, yeah?

RECOMMENDED: Amazing abandoned places you can visit around the world

Virtual Halloween events you can stream live this week

Dracula's Castle in Romania
Dracula's Castle in Romania
Photograph: Desperados / Elrow

A ‘Horrorween’ party, live from Dracula’s Castle

Feed your dance-floor cravings with this virtual DJ night streamed live from Dracula’s Bran Castle in Transylvania, Romania. Immersive-night-out specialists Elrow have teamed up with Desperados to create a ‘House of Terror’ filled with dancing zombies, laughing clowns and ‘dance-floor monsters’. The UK’s Eats Everything headlines.

Saturday, October 31 from 5pm GMT (1pm EDT, 4am AEDT) on Facebook and YouTube. Free.

Macbeth (Big Telly)
Macbeth (Big Telly)
Photograph: Courtesy of the artist

Big Telly Theatre Company’s Macbeth

British troupe Big Telly’s timely take on snappy, witch-heavy tragedy ‘Macbeth’, performed live by a cast of five: Nicky Harley, Lucia McAnespie, Dennis Herdman, Aonghus Og McAnally and Dharmesh Patel.

Monday, October 26 to Saturday, October 30, at 7pm and 9.30pm GMT (3pm and 5.30pm EDT, 6am and 8.30am AEDT). Tickets £20 ($26, A$37) per screen.

Advertising
Skeleton Crawl
Skeleton Crawl
Photograph: Courtesy Skeleton Crawl

The Skeleton Crawl

Art

This one-night-only Halloween art ball will bring together 20 emerging artists who will be exhibiting their creepy, curious and surreal works during an exclusive broadcast. Expect the words of Edgar Allan Poe set to live music, live painting, an interview with Lianna Oestricher, and so much more.

Saturday, October 31, from 10pm EDT (2am GMT, 1pm AEDT) via this website. Free.

A ‘Haunted Hoes’ party, hosted by That’s Drag

London drag pioneers That’s Drag invite you to ‘unleash your inner freaks and monsters’ this Halloween’ as they host their inaugural ‘Haunted Hoes’ party. Don your most terrifying ‘scary, hairy or barely there-y’ costume, and join as an individual or a team of up to six for lip-syncs, dance-offs, bingo and more.

Friday, October 30 and Saturday, October 31, from 10pm GMT (6pm EDT, 9am AEDT) via Zoom. Tickets £6.66 ($9, $12).

Advertising
Annoyance Theatre: Splatter Theater
Annoyance Theatre: Splatter Theater
Photograph: Courtesy of the artist

Annoyance Theatre’s Splatter Theatre

Chicago’s Annoyance Theatre is streaming two performances of the 34th edition of its famous ‘Splatter Theatre’ show – a spoof of the cliché-ridden slasher movie genre. Joe McDaniel directs the gore-tastic show, which stars a veteran of the original production.

Friday, October 30 and Saturday, October 31, from 2am GMT (10pm EDT, 1pm AEDT). Tickets from $1 for Friday, $20 (£15, A$28) for Saturday.

House of Yes Halloween
House of Yes Halloween
Photograph: Courtesy House of Yes

House of Hallucinations

Nightlife

In lieu of an in-person Halloween party, New York’s legendary House of Yes is teaming up with Artery and Bramble for a ‘psychedelically seductive’ virtual spectacle within a spooky cyber realm teeming with immersive live performances, a fancy-dress costume contest, and intimate experiences including tarot, astrology and sound healing.

Saturday, October 31, from 8pm EDT (12am GMT, 11am AEDT). Tickets are available for the price of Patreon membership, which starts at $5 (£4, A$7).

Advertising
In the Shadows it waits film still, four faces on a Zoom call
In the Shadows it waits film still, four faces on a Zoom call
Photograph: In the Shadows it Waits

In the Shadow It Waits

A critically-acclaimed horror film, selected by Raindance Film Festival this year, which you can see being performed, shot and edited live. The cast comprises a group of actors who dial in from across Australia. You can watch alone or with a group of mates via Scener.

Saturday, October 31, from 10am GMT (6am EDT, 9pm AEDT). Tickets A$10 (£5, $7).

Laurie Berkner
Laurie Berkner
Courtesy: Jaime Thornton + Katie Messer

Laurie Berkner’s Halloween Party Family Concerts

Things to do Concerts

Join the queen of kindie music for a virtual performance of frighteningly fun jams like ‘Monster Boogie’, ‘The Cat Came Back’ and ‘Choc-o-lot In My Pock-o-lot’. A meet-and-greet ad-on package is also available.

Saturday, October 31, from 4pm and 9pm GMT (12pm and 5pm EDT, 3am and 8am AEDT). Tickets $20 (£15, A$28).

Advertising
Brendan Manklang Kingston and Kelly Conrad in Not Yet Rated
Brendan Manklang Kingston and Kelly Conrad in Not Yet Rated
Photograph: Erin Pitts

Not Yet Rated: An Improvised Horror Comedy

Mike Marbach, the former director of Philly Improv Theatre, leads a cast a ten in this virtual series of on-the-fly horror movie spoofs that last around 45 minutes each. Tickets are available on a pay-what-you-like basis.

Thursday, October 29 to Saturday, October 31, from midnight GMT (8pm EDT, 11am AEDT) via their website.

More creepy stuff

Recommended

    You may also like

      Advertising