Haneda airport
Photo: Yu Kato/Unsplash

These are all the countries and regions affected by Japan’s entry ban

159 nations and regions are affected by this measure

Kasey Furutani

[Updated September 1] The Covid-19 coronavirus has changed our lives – now we are accustomed to wearing face masks, social distancing and staying home, at least for the time being. International travel to and from Japan is still restricted, although Japan is working on a travel bubble with selected countries and regions and has lifted the entry ban for foreign residents. With polymerase chain reaction (PCR) testing centres planned around central Tokyo and Osaka, as well as near Narita, Haneda and Kansai airports, there is some hope that we’ll be seeing you in Japan soon.

On August 30, Japan added 13 more nations to its no-entry list, bringing the total number of banned regions to 159. Under the current restrictions, anyone who is not a Japanese citizen and has been to these countries or regions in the past 14 days will be denied entry into Japan.

Here are all the nations and regions affected by Japan’s travel ban as of September 1.

Asia Pacific: Australia, Bhutan, New Zealand, Bangladesh, Brunei, China (including Hong Kong and Macau), India, Indonesia, Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, Uzbekistan, Vietnam.

North America: Canada, United States of America. 

Latin America and the Caribbean: Argentina, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, the Grenadines, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, Venezuela.

Europe: Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Georgia, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Vatican City.

Middle East: Afghanistan, Bahrain, Israel, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates.

Africa: Algeria, Botswana, Cabo Verde, Cameroon, Central Africa, Cote d’lvoire, the Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Eswatini, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Namibia, Nigeria, the Republic of the Congo, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Tunisia, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Japanese citizens who enter Japan from one of these regions must take a coronavirus test on arrival. 

For more information, see the official website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. 

Get live updates on the Covid-19 coronavirus situation in Tokyo and Japan here.

More news from Tokyo and Japan

What's it like to go out in Tokyo right now during the coronavirus pandemic

FamilyMart is testing out new remote-controlled robots at convenience stores in Tokyo

Manga City Tokyo is the most comprehensive exhibition to date on Japanese manga and anime

Without tourists, some of Tokyo’s most popular places now seem quieter than usual

Foreign residents are now allowed to re-enter Japan with new guidelines

Latest news