Get us in your inbox

Pride flags in London
Photograph: Shutterstock

These are all the countries that have legalised gay marriage

Switzerland, Slovenia and Chile are the latest countries to make same-sex marriages legal

Ed Cunningham
Written by
Ed Cunningham

July 1 2022 was a momentous day for same-sex couples in Switzerland. After decades of campaigning – and a public referendum which saw the public vote overwhelmingly in favour of it – the country finally legalised gay marriage. That’s right: love for all! 

While it’s true that same-sex couples in Switzerland have had the right to civil partnerships since all the way back in 2007, official marriage status has far more perks. For example, it allows for much easier access to things like adoption and pregnancy services like sperm donation and IVF, as well as symbolic equality with hetero couples.

All of which is certainly a cause for celebration for the Swiss LGBTQ+ community, even if many other western European countries got there first. Not only that, but also means that even if you aren’t Swiss, you can now host your own gay wedding in the country, should you so desire.

But Switzerland isn’t the only country to have legalised gay marriage this year. Also in the club are Chile (which introduced gay marriage from March 10) and Slovenia (July 8). And the tiny European state of Andorra is set to legally enforce marriage equality from February 17, 2023.

All in all, 32 countries have legalised gay marriage so far. A further 14 allow couples to legally partner-up as part of civil partnerships or civil unions, which usually come with reduced rights compared to full-fledged marriages.

Here’s a full list of all the countries around the world that have legalised same-sex marriage.

Argentina (since 2010)

Australia (since 2017)

Austria (since 2019)

Belgium (since 2003)

Brazil (since 2013)

Canada (since 2005)

Chile (since 2022)

Colombia (since 2016)

Costa Rica (since 2020)

Denmark (since 2012)

Ecuador (since 2019)

Finland (since 2010)

France (since 2013)

Germany (since 2017)

Iceland (since 2010)

Ireland (since 2015)

Luxembourg (since 2015)

Malta (since 2017)

Mexico (since 2010)

Netherlands (since 2001)

New Zealand (since 2013)

Norway (since 2009)

Portugal (since 2010)

Slovenia (since 2022)

South Africa (since 2006)

Spain (since 2005)

Sweden (since 2009)

Switzerland (since 2022)

Taiwan (since 2019)

United Kingdom (since 2020)

United States (since 2015)

Uruguay (since 2013)

And these are the countries and states that allow same-sex unions in the form of civil partnerships.

Croatia (since 2014)

Cyprus (since 2015)

Czech Republic (since 2006)

Estonia (since 2016)

Greece (since 2015)

Hungary (since 2009)

Italy (since 2016)

Liechtenstein (since 2011)

Monaco (since 2019)

Montenegro (since 2019)

Aruba (Netherlands) (since 2021)

San Marino (since 2018)

Bermuda (UK) (since 2017)

Cayman Islands (UK) (since 2020)

That still leaves 149 nations around the world where same-sex couples are not able to be legally bound to the people they love.

Did you see that you can now host your wedding reception in Antarctica?

Plus: these are the cheapest European city breaks right now.

You may also like
You may also like