Get us in your inbox

Search

Sun Sets at The Met

  • Music
The Met's Iris and B. Gerald Cantor Roof Garden
Photograph: Filip Wolak
Advertising

Time Out says

The Metropolitan Museum of Art is even more of a hotspot for younger patrons these days. Its new Date Nights have been extremely popular (and successful with three proposals taking place there), and as of July 1, it'll host Sun Sets, a weekly music series with a rotating lineup of DJs from the city's dance music underground.

The weekly music series will feature DJs such as Liondub, Kristin Barilli, the Brooklyn-based DJ collective Uklon, who are originally from Kyiv, Dominican-American DJ Toribio, and more. This series celebrates a diversity of rhythms, perspectives, and countries of origin. Sun Sets will be free with Museum admission, which is always pay-what-you-wish for New York State residents and NY, NJ, and CT students with valid ID, and will be first come first served.

The Sun Sets series will run this summer on Friday and Saturday evenings, 5:30-8:30pm, from July 1 through September 3, and no reservations are required.

The museum's Iris and B. Gerald Cantor Roof Garden and the Roof Garden Bar is open on to take in stunning views of Central Park and the New York City skyline with cocktails and wine in hand and purchase light fare from Bon Appétit, Sunday–Tuesday and Thursday from 11am-4:30pm and Friday and Saturday from 11am-8:30pm. Typically, the Met's rooftop commission is staged here, but this year's artwork from Lauren Halsey has been postponed to the spring of 2023.

Here's the line-up:

Friday, July 1: Lauren Flax
Saturday, July 2:
Ray Zuniga and Nikita
Friday, July 8
: David Paglia
Saturday, July 9: Liondub
Friday, July 15: Connie
Saturday, July 16: Uklon Presents Stealthy, Vyper, and Raw Unkut
Friday, July 22: Kristine Barilli
Saturday, July 23: Toribio
Friday, July 29: Vivian Wang
Saturday, July 30: Lauren Murada
Friday, August 5: Journeyman
Saturday, August 6: Joy Presents Douglas Sherman, Nari, Yuji, and Takaya
Friday, August 12: MKL
Saturday, August 13: Jenifa Mayanja
Friday, August 19: Rambo Springsteen
Saturday, August 20: Elon
Friday, August 26: Malik Hendricks
Saturday, August 27: Pablo Romero
Friday, September 2: Musclecars
Saturday, September 3: Analog Soul

Shaye Weaver
Written by
Shaye Weaver

Details

Event website:
www.metmuseum.org/
Address:
Price:
Free with museum admission
Advertising
You may also like