Worldwide icon-chevron-right North America icon-chevron-right United States icon-chevron-right New York State icon-chevron-right New York icon-chevron-right Move in with this roommate: In search of a roommate

Heads up! We’re working hard to be accurate – but these are unusual times, so please always check before heading out.

 (Photograph: Francine Daveta)1/3
Photograph: Francine Daveta
 (Photograph: Francine Daveta)2/3
Photograph: Francine Daveta
 (Photograph: Francine Daveta)3/3
Photograph: Francine Daveta

Move in with this roommate: In search of a roommate

These New Yorkers are on the hunt for the perfect apartment share.

By Jayme Klock

David Kosnitzky, 27, sales representative at a health-care company
:East Village
Rent :$1,250, plus utilities (about $60 per person)

The place: "It's a 10' by 10' bedroom with a window that gets great sun. The building is a top-floor walk-up, so there are no footsteps above us. It has a leather sectional, a flatscreen TV, mirrors and new AC units."

What he's like to live with: "I'm clean, organized and considerate. I work from home during the day, so would prefer not to have loud music from nine to five. I enjoy saying 'hello,' 'good morning,' 'have a good night,' and being friendly with those I surround myself with. Hey, I'm a caring guy. I enjoy watching bad TV—should I not admit that to NYC?!? I don't take myself too seriously, I commute around the city on Rollerblades, and I follow the motto, 'If better is possible, is good good enough?'"

His ideal roommie: "I'd prefer to live with a male; it makes things easier. Having mutual interests and being able to build a friendship would be kick-ass. Home is where the heart is, and I've been creating a home here for the past two years. It would be grand if my roommate felt the same and worked to make this apartment their home as well. And if it means us hanging up pictures, then let's go for it! Also, it's key that my future roommate be gay-friendly and open minded to this."

His deal breakers: "No smoking, no drug use, no pets (besides my Mini Schnauzer) and no mess. Clutter just makes the apartment feel small and dirty, so no thank you."

You should also know: "I am a creative—not bizarre—fiber artist. Yes, I like teaching others how to knit. And I ride in Braking the Cycle, a 300-mile bicycle ride every year that raises money for HIV services at the LGBT Center on 13th Street."

Want to live with him? E-mail

Leya Topodas, 32, high-school administrator and actor
Cobble Hill, Brooklyn
Rent: $1,350, plus utilities (about $125 per person)

The place: "It's a two-bedroom, one-bathroom apartment, and the room is about 11' by 12', has a good-size closet and a huge window with a nice view of Downtown Brooklyn. The building was built in 2000. It has a dishwasher, an elevator, a live-in super and laundry, a garage and bike hooks."

What she's like to live with: "I am an awesome roommate! I keep regular hours, I come home and usually cook or order dinner, watch TV and go to bed. I like doing the dishes and I keep a clean bathroom—I cheerfully scrub the tub every two weeks."

Her ideal roomie: "Someone who's mature and able to express themselves openly—I really hate passive-aggressive notes on the fridge. You don't have to be my best friend, but you do have to communicate with me. I welcome creative types, professionals, anyone who can pay rent and bills on time. And smokers must go outside."

Want to live with her? E-mail

Anna Su, 27, fashion stylist
Boerum Hill, Brooklyn
Rent: $950, plus utilities (less than $100 per person)

The place: "It's a two-bedroom, one-bathroom apartment with a private backyard, a hammock, a grill—and it's quiet since it faces the back. The room is about 14' by 7.5' and has a large closet."

What she's like to live with: "I'm very laid-back and easy to get along with, I don't ask for much, and I'm adaptable to others' living styles within reason. Like the Olive Garden adage goes, 'When you're here, you're family.' I also travel quite a bit, so I'm away about two months out of the year. I have a Papillon dog, Toulouse—and he's friendly."

Her ideal roomie: "Someone open-minded, balanced, clean and independent. Being comfortable with the dog and being down to maximize the backyard by gardening, composting or doing a bit of urban agriculture are big pluses."

Her deal breakers: "Drug abusers. Uptight people. And you can't be outrageously messy. It would get too out of control."

Want to live with her? E-mail


    You may also like