Get us in your inbox


Singapore extends its VTL scheme to six more countries – including Thailand, Turkey and Maldives

Time to take flight!

Dewi Nurjuwita
Written by
Dewi Nurjuwita

Here's some news to end your week on a sweet note. Singapore is extending its vaccinated travel lane schemes to six more countries: Thailand, Maldives, Cambodia, Sri Lanka, Turkey and Fiji. This new development was announced by Transport Minister S Iswaran on Friday, November 26. 

According to a statement by The Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore (CAAS), travellers from Thailand will be able to enter Singapore from December 14. Those from Cambodia, Fiji, Maldives, Sri Lanka and Turkey, on the other hand, may do so from December 16. 

Additionally, Singapore will start accepting European Union (EU) digital Covid-19 certificates, even if they are issued in countries that do not have a travel lane agreement with Singapore. This means that vaccinated travellers with these certificates will be able to come here on the travel lane scheme. The relevant agencies are also working on issuing the EU digital Covid-19 certificate-compatible vaccination and test certificates from December 7 for Singaporeans.

In holding these certificates, travellers will be able to take part in activities tied to a person's vaccination status while in countries under the EU. 

Fully vaccinated Singapore citizens and permanent residents, alongside children 12 years and below, will not have to apply for a vaccinated travel pass to enter Singapore. However, short-term visitors and long-term pass holders will be required. 

This new announcement is a much-needed one, seeing how three neighbouring countries (Thailand, Cambodia and Malaysia) are now on the list of places we can travel to. So get your passports ready and be prepared for travel. 

Read more: 
Singapore-Malaysia land VTL to open on November 29
Alternative destinations to travel to from Singapore

Latest news