This side of Little India was historically the area where the Indian Muslims settled, and the original mosque on this site was founded by Shaik Abdul Gaffoor, a legal clerk in the late 19th century. The current building was a replacement, started in 1907 but not completed until the 1920s. Its architecture is a combination of South Indian, Moorish and Roman styles with a number of unique features such as the sundial in the entrance to the main prayer hall, which is decorated with 25 sunbursts that denote the 25 prophets in calligraphy.
|Venue name:||Abdul Gafoor Mosque||Contact:|
41 Dunlop Street
|Opening hours:||7am-noon, 2.30-4.30pm daily|